Car came with iPod/iPhone lead installed but...

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

mcmurray

RMS Regular
Drives
M3
Sorry if this sounds ridiculous but I bought my FN2 last week so I'm a complete noob.

It already had an iPhone/iPod lead installed by the previous owner in the pocket below the radio but I can't seem to find the button on the headunit to start playing the music from the device.

I've tried the CD/Aux button but this doesn't seem to do anything apart from play a CD. I've tried an iPhone 4 and older generation iPod. There is power to the cable as the iPod charged when I plugged it in.

Am I completely missing something obvious? :oops:

Thanks in advance.

ipodLead1.jpg

ipodLead2.jpg

Gavlar

RMS Regular
True enough lol I know with my Alpine unit I had to go into the menu to actually turn the Aux option on whenever I hooked up my Aux lead, it showed an aux button too but you had to turn the feature on within the menu's so the button would work. Could be something similar

Hammath

RMS Regular
Drives
Sc3n3 Civic.
Maybe it's just a charger? Is it def going to the head unit?

Also that wire isn't an aux connection afaik. So aux button wouldn't start it.

mcmurray

RMS Regular
OP
mcmurray
Drives
M3
Maybe it's just a charger? Is it def going to the head unit?

Also that wire isn't an aux connection afaik. So aux button wouldn't start it.

You could be right about it just being a charger.

Is that an MP3 button on the right of the second photo?

Is it Bluetooth and needs paired with the device?

It's not a button, it just lets you know that the head unit will play MP3/WMA cd's.

I'm starting to think it's simply a charger that is meant to be used with the Nokia bluetooth hands free kit (on the left in the first photo).

mcmurray

RMS Regular
OP
mcmurray
Drives
M3
Although that theory is flawed as it doesn't charge my iPhone 4.