Galway International Rally at Galway

0 Replies

The Galway International Rally has taken place over the past number of years, drawing huge crowds of spectators and big names from the rallying sector to Galway for the event. Safety Direct are taking part as the main sponsor of the rally for the first time this year. Commenting on the upcoming event, Safety Direct spokesperson Alan Fair stated, “This is a very exciting event for Safety Direct to become involved with. An occasion of this scale is wonderful for Galway city and county and we are only too happy to be a part of it”.

<!– / icon and title –><!– message –><div id=”post_message_124714″>Well done Mark Higgins and Tim McNulty who showed huge pace and in the end Higgins got the win from Tim by 10sec, Eamon Boland yet again consistant finishing 3rd and could his Monte Carlo experience have helped him keep a pace to put pressue on the rest of the top field?

Great driving from Kevin Kelleher brought home the class honours for him with 5th overall, also a supurb drive for John McGlaughlin in his revamped car, a great result, sixth overall and second grpN in what seemed like a great battle for 2nd 3rd &4th in class, with Gary Jennings and young Jonny Greer who i feel has showed his worth in the evo and could be a contender for top honours in 2008 if he commits to the championship.

Well done to all who finished, after driving 2 stages on saturday (at granny speed) it definately wasn’t for the feint harted!

</strong>Pos Driver/Codriver (Make) Total
1 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC ) 1:36:02.8
2 Tim McNulty/Eugene O’Donnell (Subaru Impreza WRC ) 1:36:18.5
3 Eamonn Boland/Damien Morrissey (Subaru Impreza WRC ) 1:39:18.0
4 Aaron MacHale/Killian Duffy (Ford Focus WRC) 1:40:05.4
5 Kevin Kelleher/Martin Kelleher (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 GpN) 1:44:01.8
6 John McGlaughlin/Crawford Henderson (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 GpN) 1:45:23.5
7 Garry Jennings/Damien Connolly (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 GpN) 1:45:35.8
8 Jonathan Greer/Jonathan Hart (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 GpN) 1:45:47.5
9 Roy White/Stephen McAuley (MG S2000 ) 1:46:12.7
10 Brendan Cumiskey/Peter O Toole (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 GpN) 1:46:39.3

</strong>Pos Driver/Codriver (Make) Total
1 Martin McGee/Arthur Kierans (Ford Escort Mk2 ) 1:46:50.3
2 Wesley Patterson/Ruth Guest (Ford Escort RS Mk2 ) 1:47:14.9
3 Paul Gallagher/Karl Reid (Toyota Corolla 2.0 RWD ) 1:48:37.2
4 Raymond Conlon/James O’Reilly (Toyota Corolla 1600 RWD) 1:51:36.2
5 Casimir McGill/Brian Boyle (Ford Escort Mk2 ) 1:51:47.2
6 Gordon Percy/Sean Duggan (Ford Escort Mk2 ) 1:53:27.8
7 David Long/Dermot Harrington (Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD) 1:53:31.3
8 Dermot Cannon/John McLoone (Toyota Corolla Twin Cam ) 1:57:44.5
9 Ciaran Brogan/Dermot McGettigan (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6 ) 1:58:02.0
10 Neil Pierce/Enda O’Leary (Honda Civic) 1:58:34.2

</strong>Pos Driver/Codriver (Make) Total
1 Richard Hall/Sam McMullan (Ford Rs2000 ) 1:24:53.1
2 Denis Moynihan/Dan Moynihan (Ford Escort ) 1:27:50.6
3 Adrian Kermode/Maurice Beckett (Porsche 911 ) 1:28:55.3
4 Mike Devine/Kevin Treacy (Ford Escort RS2000 ) 1:30:44.5
5 Mervyn Johnston/Wendy Blackledge (Austin Cooper S ) 1:35:32.2

Pos Driver/Codriver (Make) Total
1 Enda McLoughlin/Michael Reilly (Ford Escort Mark 11 ) 0:34:52.3
2 Gerard McQuaid/Gary Quinlan (Ford Escort Mk2 ) 0:35:04.1
3 Mark Lane/Ross Fuller (Peugeot 106 ) 0:35:06.0
4 Sam Moffett/Donal Lennon (Citroen C2 R2 ) 0:35:07.3
5 Colin McMenamin/Patrick McBride (Honda Civic ) 0:35:23.9

Pos Driver/Codriver (Make) Total
1 Elfyn Evans/Garth Roberts (Ford Fiesta ST ) 0:52:34.7
2 Alastair Fisher/Barry McNulty (Ford Fiesta ST ) 0:52:49.8
3 Tadhg Buckley/Shane Buckley (Ford Fiesta ST ) 0:53:04.2
4 Meilyr Evans/Alan Edwards (Ford Fiesta ST ) 0:53:44.3
5 Barry Greer/John Lemon (Ford Fiesta ST ) 0:54:11.4

<strong>Stage Winners</strong>
SS1 Tim McNulty/Eugene O’Donnell (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS2 Eamonn Boland/Damien Morrissey (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS3 Cancelled
SS4 Tim McNulty/Eugene O’Donnell (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS5 Bogey Beaten
SS6 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS7 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS8 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS9 Cancelled
SS10 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS11 Gordon Percy/Sean Duggan (Ford Escort Mk II)
SS12 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS13 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS14 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC)

<strong>Leaders After:
</strong>SS1-12 Tim McNulty/Eugene O’Donnell (Subaru Impreza WRC)
SS13-14 Mark Higgins/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC) 
<em>Thanks to for results lists</em>

For image purchasing please email [email protected]</div>


About Author

Graham is a professional photographer and motoring writer with over 15 varied years of coverage from manufacturer press launches to international motorsport and rally events throughout the world. Graham is a full member of the Guild of Motoring Writers. See more at

©2001-2020 RMS Motoring | Terms | Contact | RSS