Lurgan Park Rally at Lurgan Park

0 Replies

<font size=”2″>This Saturday’s Turkington Lurgan Park Rally once again has all the ingredients for a great event, with a top class invited entry prepared to battle it out over eight special stages through the twists and turns of Craigavon Borough Council’s beautiful Park. There is £5,500 prize money at stake but more than that is the prestige of one of Northern Ireland’s most famous sporting events with its 27 year history.</font>

<font face=”Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif” size=”2″>British Rally Champion Mark Higgins, driving the same Pirelli Subaru in which he won the Circuit of Ireland, will lead the cars away from the ceremonial start in the Park at 10.45 for the first of the eight special stages in the park, starting at 11.00. Behind Mark is the man who has dominated the Park for the last three years, Kevin Lynch, and running at No.3 is ten times Lurgan Park winner Kenny McKinstry.</font>

<font face=”Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif” size=”2″>The leading GpN entries are Garry Jennings and Michael Curran who start at 11 and 12 in their respective Mitsubishi Lancers. Killarney Rally of the Lakes winner and former British Junior Rally Champion, Kris Meeke, heads the exciting Escort Challenge part of the event and starts at 36 closely followed by Wesley Patterson and current NI Championship leader Glenn Allen, all in Mk2 Escorts. Meeke’s example is supplied by Den Motorsport.

<strong>Top 10 at the end of the day:</strong>
1 – Kevin Lynch/Francis Regan (Focus WRC) 13.32.2
2 – Mark Higgins/Michael Gibson (Impreza WRC) 13.40.6
3 – Kenny McKinstry/Noel Orr (Impreza WRC) 13.46.5
4 – James Gillen/PJ Gillespie (Impreza) 14.12.2
5 – Garry Jennings/Darragh Mullan (Lancer N) 14.15.5
6 – Niall McShea/Steven McAloon (Impreza WRC 14.19.9
7 – Mike Curran/Brid Deary (Lancer N) 14.21.3
8 – John & Amanda McKeown (Escort Cos) 14.25.2
9 – Richard Hogg/Mark Hanna (Octavia WRC) 14.27.0
10 – Derek McGeehan/Alan McGeehan (Corolla WRC) 14.27.1


About Author

Graham is a professional photographer and motoring writer with over 15 varied years of coverage from manufacturer press launches to international motorsport and rally events throughout the world. Graham is a full member of the Guild of Motoring Writers. See more at

©2001-2020 RMS Motoring | Terms | Contact | RSS