1997 Ferrari F355 Spider

Ghisallo

Over the last few years a lot of people have been asking for a thread on my 2010 Galaxy Titanium X but I don't the RMS massiv are ready for something like that right now.

Back in 1995 I was walking to school one morning and a red F355 came ripping up the Lisburn Road; I watched open mouthed as it shot through Finaghy cross roads as it got a bit out of shape on the wee bump in the road and threw up a load of dirt and gravel as it's passenger side tyres went into the gutter, just avoiding the kerb at Winemark (or whatever it was called then). "What an asshole" I thought. "What a noise!" I also thought.

But I've always wanted a Lamborghini. However the ones I like most have all become too expensive now, so for the last couple of years I was thinking about getting a Gallardo Spyder. Then it occurred to me that I wouldn't even cross the street to take a look at one, so why would I want to own one? So last year I started seeing F355s appear in magazines and social media with increasing frequency, and back in March, when packing for a house move, I found an old photo of my dad's friend's silver F355 Spider. It was breathtaking and I had to have one.

So I ended up buying this, unseen, from K H P C in Maidstone. 1997, manual, rossa corsa over cream leather, 36,000 miles. It has an incredible history file. The list of 9 previous owners reads like a who's who of wealthy businessmen and industrialists, with the last keeper, the head of an investment bank, having owned it for 10 years. Eye-watering amounts have been spent keeping it in it's amazing condition.

It was nearly four month's before I had the chance to go and collect it, but during that time it had the front bumper, bonnet and wings repainted to make it perfect for XPEL PPF on the whole front end, as well as the wing mirrors , lower door sections and sills. Picking the car up was class, I could hardly believe how spectacular it was in the flesh. The dealer's photos and our telephone conversations barely did it justice. The salesman, James, never said much more than a calm "I promise, you won't be disappointed". I imagine it was possibly almost as thrilling as lying awake at night agonizing over what headlights to spec on a M3 Competition!!!!1!

On the 600 mile drive home it drove faultlessly. 2 hours stop start traffic on the M25 in 25 degree summer was no bother. Four hours in the pouring rain and fog, no bother either. It gets very warm inside but the aircon is great. The standard exhaust is really loud so that saves me a few grand getting a capristo.

The car gets lots of comments and good will from other road users. In England it was particularly popular with Black and Asian guys and van drivers, they seem to really love their bling, and so I met lots of cool folk I wouldn't have cause to interact with otherwise. The gear stick makes that nice clacking sound as you engage each gear. First gear wouldn't pull your **** straight, second gear doesn't really contribute much either, but 3rd gear up and 4000rpm onwards, it goes like a rat out of an aqueduct.

I can only describe it as beautiful, hot and loud. My kids love it so they want to keep it forever.

F1543644-D55F-4C5B-9B37-646A45F49F54.jpeg

6987372C-920C-4CDD-A161-490693A6871E.jpeg
3188D597-83D7-41C8-8CF2-C58778D2240A.jpeg

FAC55C82-7C07-4740-A855-B30992AE9B58.jpeg

E23FEA75-E0F2-4529-84BF-6E7978E9366E.jpeg

Jonny_W

You win the members thread!! That is just perfect in every way.

I was in Maranello when these had first came out and I always remember the guy stopping beside us with the Ferrari sunglasses etc and taking off when the other 2 caught up. I was in awe of them

McMillan had one in recently (think it’s a members relatives) and the mechanic blipped it up the road and it sounded amazing!!

Lyons

RMS Moderator
X5 / 435D
Just incredible.

What are maintenance costs like? I remember when they were fairly new hearing some of the costs for a clutch etc, but I assume there are plenty of specialists that can tackle big jobs for more humble money? Or are you going to take it to Ferrari just?

da.murf

Nissan 350z
Just incredible.

What are maintenance costs like? I remember when they were fairly new hearing some of the costs for a clutch etc, but I assume there are plenty of specialists that can tackle big jobs for more humble money? Or are you going to take it to Ferrari just?

Sorry @Lyons you mistyped

“can we please have a video of it bouncing off it’s Italian limiter”

FM155

Alfa 155
Does she do hoops lawd? 🤪

355's are fantastic although I'd have to have a tintop. Still friggin class though, health to enjoy!

Ghisallo

Ghisallo
:oops:Just incredible.

They say it’s one of the most expensive Ferraris to maintain, probably due to the engine out cam belt change that’s required every 4ish years. But that should only cost £1100 or £1200 at a specialist. Any incidentals can mount up, and annual service is about £800. However, and I could be wide of the mark and stand corrected, an Audi RS car or fancy TDI yoke could throw up similar bills and/or could **** its pants spectacularly, so that’s how I attempt to justify it :laughing:.

I hope to use an independent specialist once I find one that’s local and knows F355s, but am thinking of getting the first annual at Ferrari Edinburgh in the hope they might put me on some customer list that results in invites to corporate shizzle

gav525

Beautiful car, fair play to you 👏🏻

Remember when these were first out and Clarkson testing one, must've been 96/97 and think he went on to buy one. They still look as stunning now IMO, haven't dated at all. Actually look more Ferrariesque than a 360, again IMO