Baz26... You decide...

SideWaysWayne

LEGNUM VR4
Ok ppl, I've posted this on here as a kind of 'Safe Area' where this guy Baz can't edit my posts to suit himself. This is in response to a debate which is taking place on undergrounddiffing.com , where yer man is an administrator. I don't wish to tarnish all their members with the same brush but this had to be done to get the truth out there.

Our recent charity fund raising event / World Record attempt was disrupted by this guy and his supporters. Their interpretation of the events of the day are being posted everywhere so I thought I'd let you all into the way things really were.

Brace yourselves, its loooong....

The FULL Story...
Ok guys, here’s how it was. I’m going to go with the long winded version so that nothing is left out and you can all make up your own minds about this.

@ Scubbay, my not having posted to this stage was in no way a sign of guilt. Rather that I was waiting until the right time to do so and the time is now.

Righto, here goes.....

I became aware of this Baz character through his posts on Jon44 and having seen him about at various events here and there. He seemed to have a genuine enthusiasm for the whole scene, albeit with different preferences to myself. Me being into racing, him being into Diffing. At that stage the two disciplines were unlikely to meet as our program was already pretty full. Over the past year our venue and calendar of events changed enough for us to be more flexible and to allow in a little bit of diffing. The start of this was the first of the several times we invited Baz and Co. to perform a diffin display during the main program. Another such time was at the King of the Court event, televised on TG4.

After having hosted this ‘Display Team’ several times (all of whom were granted free admission on each occasion) I befriended Baz as he seemed a genuine sort and I began to think of ways that I could make Diffin a more central part of our events. Before the first Straightliners Drag event I was asked to come up to Cookstown with entry forms as there were a several drivers who wanted to enter. I did so and all was well.

A short time after this event (early May) I was talking to Baz and he told me this long story about how he had been done over by his partner in the Cookstown events, that yer man had been money grabbing and that there had actually been no insurance in place, etc... Not having any reason to believe otherwise I joined in the slating, saying that ‘I hated it when some people pull fly moves’ and that sort of thing. I told Baz to leave it with me and that I would certainly accommodate the differs if I possibly could.

It was pretty soon after this that I decided to investigate the Diffin World Record. I wanted to be sure about all the ins and outs of it before saying anything about it to anyone. This took a few weeks and I eventually revealed the plan to several people, including Baz, ahead of the second Straightliners event. (Now we’re into mid June).

Meanwhile I was hearing from all angles that Baz was a real 2 faced So and So and that HE was apparently running the Diffin at Bishopscourt. I just thought that this was lies bein spread by people that didn’t like him. Undeterred I continued to be very friendly with Baz and all seemed fine.

I also had announced that in addition to the Drag racing (Straightliners 2 on 24th June) there would be a free diffing arena set up for all those that wanted to but (as any of my posts from the time will verify) the differs will still have to pay admission to the drag event. The diffin arena was afterall laid on for them, rather than diffin being part of the main event. This was seemingly understood by all.....but not Baz, who phoned me during the event whinging that several of his ‘Crew’ turned away at the gate when asked to pay the admission fee. I explained the situation again over the phone and the penny eventually seemed to drop. It is worth stating by the way that at each event Baz was on the guest list for free admission. I thought it only fair as John Semple and Andy Cooper are always on it too and Baz claimed that Underground was his site. Is this not the case? Anyway...

With the Drag event now behind us all my attention was focused on getting the Diffin World Record organised and promoted. I posted on several forums the plan for the day along with all details of our nominated charity including their registered charity number and their registered company number. All of this was very above board and completely transparent.

This event was to be Round 6 of the DriftNI and SWRC Racing Championship. Every piece of promotional material that I printed in the months previous had stated exactly that. I informed Baz that the Diffin record attempt would be the highlight of the day and that the Drag racing would be dropped in order to allow the extra time in the program before our 7pm curfew.

Many jokes were shared between me and Baz as the event grew ever closer, like I had just planned this event especially for him as it was his birthday, that kind of silly stuff... He regularly thanked me for doing it and that it’d be really great for the whole scene here, with us all holding the world record. All was set for a great day.

Sunday 1st July I headed to Kinturk Appreciation Diff with my brother, where the organisers were kind enough to allow us to come and promote our event. I had offered to return the favour and so all was cool. Within a few minutes of parking up we were approached by a couple of geezers wanting to know if this event of ours was anything to do with Baz. I said that it was a SWRC event but yes, Baz would be there. These guys went on to say how Baz had been running us (SWRC) down at every opportunity and saying that once in there that he and his ‘Crew’ would be taking over. I assured them otherwise. They continued to say that Baz was becoming hated near and far because of his lies and dirty moves that he’s pulled on people and that the circles he was able to travel in were becoming ever smaller. All this was duly noted, but not taken very seriously, as I said earlier; I still had no reason not to trust Baz.

At some stage around this time Baz texted me about the event being Diffin all day. I put him right on that immediately, with the text that he read out in front of ppl during their disruption at BC. The text stated clearly that the Diffin World Record would be the main event of the day and that the rest of the program would be the build up to it. The Drag would be dropped for the day to allow us the extra time. His reply was: “Ok cool, as long as there is no drag racing”

On now to the TV and World record situation.
Having spoken to Gary Gillespie about the nature of our event he expressed particular interest. The date was going to prove difficult for them to guarantee a camera crew though so I offered to arrange a freelance camera man. This was the ideal solution for us both. Ray Ross of Crossgar provided us with high quality digital footage in the correct format for broadcast.

We originally intended to have an adjudicator from GWR in attendance, thinking that it would be nice to have the record verified and the certificate presented there and then. This would obviously be an extra cost that would have to be factored into the equation and when the cost of this was revealed to us at approx £2000 for the DAY it just didn’t make sense to throw away this amount of money that would otherwise be given to the charity. The alternative (and the usual thing done) is to arrange 2 separate independent witnesses to verify the record attempt. Signed witness statements must be supplied along with video and / or photographic evidence of your achievements. The witnesses must be prominent, respected members of the community.

Our independent witnesses were:
Ciara Byrne – Editor of the Down Democrat newspaper
And Dr. Stan Pappenfus

Local PSNI also leant their time to this event (as some found out later on!)

The morning of the event came and again Baz was texting me wishing us all the best for the day. I didn’t hear from him again until the afternoon. I had again put him on the guest list and on the list of invited drivers for the Cone Racing. The Cone Racing was scheduled for 3.40 to 4.20. That’s 40 mins of Diffing.

He approached me in the pits with the schedule in his hand. At this stage we were running AHEAD of schedule. Now this is where it all starts....

I 5H1T YOU NOT people. His problem with our schedule was that he had arranged to go out that night for his birthday and that he had to be away from BC by 5 o’clock! I pointed out that in the schedule that we had based it on 100 cars, allowing them all to do a bit of a display, in groups of 4, by way of sorting out the wick ones and just to really give the differs more track time than just the record alone. This section of the event alone was due to be on from 4.40 to 5.40. That’s another HOUR of Diffing.

The record attempt was scheduled for 5.40 with a photoshoot and presentations after that. All-in-all, a nice leisurely way to finish off the event with a good bit of craic on a really memorable occasion. Well it was memorable alright. I’ll continue...

I explained that we were not looking like getting 100 cars at that stage and that we probably would be able to get finished up even further ahead of schedule. His exact words were this:.... “That’s no good to me, I’ve to go out tonight!”

I said, “Look I’m trying to accommodate you here. Obviously we have a schedule to run to. What is YOUR deadline?”

He said. “I’ve to be out of here for 5 because that trailer has to be left back to Nuttscorner and I’ve a room booked for 8 o’clock for my birthday!”

Now ppl, its very relevant that at this stage there was nobody else standing listening, because as soon as there was, his story changed! All of a sudden we had been falsely advertising a full day’s diffing, we were now just interested in the money, its all a farce, there’s not going to be any diffing, there’s going to be no Cone Racing, there’s no charity involved, there’s no World Record, there’s no TV coverage......... I’m sure all of this is beginning to sound familiar to many of you.

My time was now being diverted away from the actual running of the event and towards dealing with the mob that were threatening the safety of our staff at the gate and demanding their money back. Many of whom had by this stage been on the premises for 4 hours or more. I had to leave the track side and head ½ a mile to the gate to handle the situation. This resulted in us running almost 2 hours behind schedule at one point, before I had to make changes to bring us back into line for the 7pm curfew. This ultimately meant doing away with the hour of ‘Diffin Qualifying’ that we had intended as well as reduced time for the Cone Racing and Drift finals. We managed in the end to over-run our curfew by only 30 mins. Local residents were not best pleased at this but were furious at the disruption right beside their houses at our main gate. Afterall, we are there at their discretion.

When dealing with the trouble makers I opted to remain calm and tactful, choosing to explain everything bit by bit, hoping that SOMEONE would see sense. I mean, I explained it as if to children.

When Baz read out my Txt, WHICH COMPLETELY CONFIRMED ALL THAT I HAD SAID, all the spastics in this ‘Crew’ just looked blank faced and went... ‘Aye...false advertising,...you’re just in it for the money....MMmoooo.....Baa-aa-aa-aah’.
FLlCKin REEEEEEE-TAARDS!!!!!

It was at this stage that I said to Baz, “You know, you’re alot different in private than you are in front of people.” 2 Faced wouldn’t even begin to describe the guy.

Well there WAS a new World Record set....42 Cars performed donuts simultaneously for more than the minimum 10seconds.

The TV coverage was shown twice on UTV on 13th July

The Cone Racing was enjoyed by all and won by Bertie.

Some money was raised for the CBIT but ultimately this was disappointingly low due to the idiots who, lead by Baz, blocked our entrance gates for over an hour, not allowing anyone in. Most ppl just turned away in fear of there being any trouble. Eventually our local PSNI in attendance sorted the situation, but not before Baz had been given a hiding by his ex-buddy from the Cookstown events. I heard reports of Baz running around his car with a big red nose. Apparently Baz is now looking for me saying... ‘I’m gonna pull his ****ing head off!’
Well now, I’m not hard to find.... still haven’t heard from him tho. I live in hope!

icon_arrow.gif
So in response to this, despite all attempts by the aforementioned morons, we are going to beat our own World Record on the 12th August at the North Vs. South Drift event. There will be another donation made to the same charity based upon the attendance at this event and the number of cars in the record attempt. Participation in this record attempt will be by invitation only as we will never again leave SWRC events vulnerable to being held to ransom by wanna-bees.

The Cone Racing will definitely feature again in our program, both at Race / Drift events and at Drag events. Again these will be by invitation only. We have big plans for this section, leading to an All of Ireland Championship Tournament. All entrants will be in very tasty machinery. Oh yes, it will be good!

We will again be providing a diffing arena at the next Drag event, on the 26th of August. Entry to the diffin arena will be free however differs must still pay admission to the Drag event. The arena will be laid on for your pleasure.

I have posted this exact same content on RMS as Baz is an administrator on this site (undergrounddiffing.com) and has the chance to edit any of my posts to suit himself. The content can therefore be verified by comparing it to that on RMS.

The result of this is that I will unfortunately not be posting on here (undergrounddiffing.com) as much anymore as, just like many ppl warned me before, Baz can NOT be trusted and I’ll not have him alter any of my statements. I’ll continue to put up our posters for you guys to know what’s happening at SWRC events. Members of Undergrounddiffing are still welcome, except ofcourse for those who disrupted or in any way supported the disrupters at this event. Remember fools, we have your details and we know who you are, so just stay away. But then, I suppose that just gives them a cause.
Rebels without a clue!

I was told before that this lot were part of an ever decreasing circle...... It just got smaller!
icon_razz.gif

jonny106

Vtec....errr yo!
Im not taking anyone's side but I'm quite shocked if this is the case. I met Baz a couple of times when we were nearly the only people on the forums to have 325i's, and he seemed a nice, personable fella to me. It all sounds a bit serious for what is meant to be a bit of car craic/entertainment.

Morty

Escort Cosworth
Well done Wayne, good to see that yet more people are taking a disliking to this idiot.

It wont be long until he wont be aloud anywhere, he just wants to try and make money from genuine car enthusiasts by holding his illegal diffing sessions and it will soon turn sour whenever someone has a accident at one of them.

I for one will continue to support SWRC events and i know others from NCC will also support it.

I will post this on my site also so that any other organisers from events can find out the real deal behind this idiot.

Big up the SWRC.

SideWaysWayne

LEGNUM VR4
Cheers guys. Morty I didn't post on NCC as I didn't like to just impose this on everyone, but sure thing, work away man...

slinky2000

Fiesta ST
sounds a bit ****e mate, I never met the lad myself but I'd defo heard the rumours! I must get up to one of these events, they sound awsome!

SideWaysWayne

LEGNUM VR4
Hmmm, that's some great input there CLK. So you're not interested, frankly neither am I, but if as it says here..

Ok ppl, I've posted this on here as a kind of 'Safe Area' where this guy Baz can't edit my posts to suit himself. This is in response to a debate which is taking place on undergrounddiffing.com , where yer man is an administrator. ...

...Our recent charity fund raising event / World Record attempt was disrupted by this guy and his supporters. Their interpretation of the events of the day are being posted everywhere so I thought I'd let you all into the way things really were......

This is a public information post.

So you're not interested. Go away then :scream:

ChrisL

Audi S3 (8V)
Sounds wild ... dont know the guy in question but as morty says its only going to be a matter of time until someone gets hurt ... where are these illegal diffing sessions held???

smiley

copied from our site as well......my reply as admin on undergroundiffing

http://www.undergrounddiffing.co.uk/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3579&start=15

firstly thank you for your awaited reply on this topic and i think i speak for the majority of our admin/mods when i say that there will be no alteration of your posts on our watch , so feel free to post on here when you like.
due to a clash of dates ( toome rally ) myself and several other members were not at this event so we wanted to hear both sides of the story. as you know scubbay , doyle , myself , higgins etc have shown your events a lot of support in the past both spectating and competing and have never had any problems paying the entry fees ( although baz didnt tell us he was getting in for free), both at aughadowy and the court so please do not tar us with the same brush as the people who caused disruption at this event.
i have often said to people , fair ****s to you for providing a venue for a bit of track time and some craic, after all there isnt many other regular days out for us people without spending a fortune entering msa events.
like i say for the day in question i cannot comment as i wasnt there but as for baz and his "crew" there seems to be two of these groups. we generally let baz work away on the ground sorting out the diffs and meets , thats where he and his crew seem to do a good job i dont think many can argue that he can soon sort out a diffing session. as for the other members of the mod/admin we work more with motorsport and pushing the site on.
baz does not own this site as it is jointley owned/run by the admin team.
if there is to be another record attempt dont be leaving us of the invite list , hopefully have a we sunbeam out for it
good luck with future events

ps sorry about the spelling

Ghost

is it the same baz on here by any chance?

sounds silly like - i assume u were believed, and the truth prevailed?

Cess

RMS Staff
Boys is it wise to air your dirty linen in public and drag RMS into this row when the site nor it's members are involved?

SideWaysWayne

LEGNUM VR4
Right you are Cess. I had no intention of dragging others in. Just needed a safe place to post. Things are lookin good on Underground now too though. Glad to see not everyone jumps to the beat of his drum! (y)

baz26

325i sport
i haven edited your posts on underground as i see no point everyman is entitled to free speech....if you want to go and mouth of about me go rite ahead theres plenty of them about that have done before you and there will be more after you...

why why why are you waiting 2 weeks to come out with this crap about me.....
anyone who knows me will tell you i go way out of my way too help people all the time i dont run around acting a big shot... iam a "differ"self confessed differ thats wat i do.....
theres no need to throw toys from the pram........you carry on with wat your doing and ill carry on with wat iam doing.........

baz26

325i sport
Well done Wayne, good to see that yet more people are taking a disliking to this idiot.

It wont be long until he wont be aloud anywhere, he just wants to try and make money from genuine car enthusiasts by holding his illegal diffing sessions and it will soon turn sour whenever someone has a accident at one of them.

I for one will continue to support SWRC events and i know others from NCC will also support it.

I will post this on my site also so that any other organisers from events can find out the real deal behind this idiot.

Big up the SWRC.

lol no one has ever been hurt at any meet before and how am i taking money away from geniune car enthusiasts by holding diffs.........

the undergrounddiffing meets get big crowds as its "free 2 diff" and also for the car enthusiasts its"free 2 watch"
we dont take any money and people travel from all over to go to these meets.....

wingnut

S2 Coupe
And for getting that "e30 Alpina low milage minter" spoken off on jim55 purely to 'diff'.

andy_gdon

GTi Polo
What are your entire version of events baz?

Personally i can't see the attraction of tin cans and old BM's going round and round, but each to their own.

Jonny

And for getting that "e30 Alpina low milage minter" spoken off on jim55 purely to 'diff'.

heresy but it was actively encouraged by other sniff yer wiff members over there in fact one member wilkin is quoted as saying..

"you need to diff it infront of the previous owner, i hear the alpina diff is far better than the sport diff, i've been told they dont 1 wheel"

with reference to this post..

baz26...
"no as the last time i diffed at it i got a rather good telling off(a big wide open carpark and everyone asleep damn right i was taking avanage of that.........he he he

no anyone ever heard of a e30 330i alpina"

and again

"1986 1 0f 100 ever made 3.3ltr 6 cyclinder alpina engine with m-tec 1 kit chrome strip on top of bumpers and chrome gutter rails 26.000 miles on the clock one owner from new garaged the last 12 years.....

orangey red colour black leather air con fully loaded car 16" geniune alpinas.......

been told of this car a while now but to actually see it today in the flesh i was totally stunned"

so therefore he knows of the history of the car and yet plans to drive the guts out of it.

I rest my case

http://www.jon44w.co.uk/forum/viewthread.php?tid=118137&page=1