Clio 200 fun car

gav525

gav525
Couple of videos from yesterday, nothing special or fast lol. Would definitely be good to get an instructor out for a lap or 2 to show me the proper racing line and where I can push more. Just didn't really fancy binning it given it had to drive home again 😂

FB_IMG_1601756625223.jpg

Ben P

BMW F33/A6C7
Looked like good craic dude.
You definitely had the Type R in the corners but the Vtec had you on the straights.
Flip that Lotus just seemed to glide by!

gav525

gav525
Looked like good craic dude.
You definitely had the Type R in the corners but the Vtec had you on the straights.
Flip that Lotus just seemed to glide by!

Was so frustrating as he wouldn't pull over at all and he was rubbish in the corners, was like that for about 4 laps.
I ended up going back into pits and out again just to get a gap. The lack of power to pass him was a bit frustrating, not really a lot I can do with the wee Clio though, maybe an exhaust and RS Tuner map, and a good diet for me 😂

warren

The intake on that Clio sounds brilliant! I can see why you were angry at the Civic anyway! Looks like fantastic fun, would absolutely love a go at it myself, love the Mondello circuit.

gav525

gav525
Gearbox out to get synchros fixed. Horrible job that, nothing wanted to come undone. Will take the opportunity to replace a load of bits as I put it back together.

Was going to do the synchros myself as it's not that bad a job, but come resale time I think a receipt from KTEC or the likes showing a proper box rebuild will be worth more than an oily blood stained piece of paper signed by Gav, Age 37.5, in the shed at home.

20201016_213200.jpg
20201016_213346.jpg

quattro Rick

quattro / M796
Gearbox out to get synchros fixed. Horrible job that, nothing wanted to come undone. Will take the opportunity to replace a load of bits as I put it back together.

Was going to do the synchros myself as it's not that bad a job, but come resale time I think a receipt from KTEC or the likes showing a proper box rebuild will be worth more than an oily blood stained piece of paper signed by Gav, Age 37.5, in the shed at home.

View attachment 298979View attachment 298980

I don't care if it says ktec or gav mate just as long as it works 🤣

gav525

gav525
Are you going to kirk in Nov if its on? What about the porsche?

Yes mate, I'm hoping to be there in this all being well.

The Porsche is grand. I've pretty much narrowed it down to the air oil separator and not anything more serious as first feared.

Basically they fail all the time, and when they start going they don't separate the air and oil efficiently, especially after hard track use and the oil is frothy. That means it then inadvertently injects oil particles into the air inlet as it recycles the air. Which is why I was getting the smoke! (have to admit I had visions of IMS bearings and cracked heads lol 😬)

It hasn't done it again and I took it a good blast yesterday to make sure.

But I did call in with Macmillan Porsche to discuss the issue and have booked it in next week for them to give it a full once over. If it is the AOS then it's an engine drop job so I'll do it over winter along with a few other wee preventative maintenance jobs while it's out. Cars eh, who'd have them!

natogreen16v

Stuff
Was so frustrating as he wouldn't pull over at all and he was rubbish in the corners, was like that for about 4 laps.
I ended up going back into pits and out again just to get a gap. The lack of power to pass him was a bit frustrating, not really a lot I can do with the wee Clio though, maybe an exhaust and RS Tuner map, and a good diet for me 😂
Supercharger...👀

gav525

gav525
Supercharger...👀

Lol, would cost the same as the price of the car. The common mod for more power is the the Megane 225 engine, not even that dear to do. But I quite like the buzz of the NA engine and how it needs thrashed on the track. Maybe exhaust, cams and a map will do for now, then weight saving program for car and myself 😂

natogreen16v

Stuff
@gav525 year I can totally understand that. Even lightly tuning it probably keeps it more in the region of what it is, a great balance of handling and power. Would definitely sort out the type r issue though 😂

gav525

gav525
So was getting silly prices from couriers of over 200 quid to take the box to England and back for refurb, plus a couple of the places I was in contact with were rubbish at communication and all I wanted to know is what exactly they'd replace and would I get a receipt and warranty with it. One place said everything would be replaced but couldn't give me a definitive list, and I just lost faith. They definitely weren't replacing everything for the price quoted lol.

So here we are today 😂 Sure it passes the time and I've little else to be at.

Actually nice and simple really, just need to wait for a couple of told to turn up before taking the gears and synchros off the input and output shafts for full inspection.

20201103_152658.jpg
20201103_151203.jpg

20201103_153646.jpg

pizza85

E92 M3
So was getting silly prices from couriers of over 200 quid to take the box to England and back for refurb, plus a couple of the places I was in contact with were rubbish at communication and all I wanted to know is what exactly they'd replace and would I get a receipt and warranty with it. One place said everything would be replaced but couldn't give me a definitive list, and I just lost faith. They definitely weren't replacing everything for the price quoted lol.

So here we are today 😂 Sure it passes the time and I've little else to be at.

Actually nice and simple really, just need to wait for a couple of told to turn up before taking the gears and synchros off the input and output shafts for full inspection.

View attachment 300877View attachment 300878
View attachment 300876
Let me know what you charge in case i ever need it done haha

You've the heart of a lion

gav525

gav525
Let me know what you charge in case i ever need it done haha

You've the heart of a lion

Haha, we'll see if it all goes back together first or not 😂

It's not that bad if a job to be fair, hardest but I'm finding is getting hold of a decent workshop manual with all specs and tolerances and parts diagrams. But got enough now I think to motor on.

Can see why specialists quote around 6 to 600 quid for a drive in drive out service, it's a time consuming pig if a job getting to that stage. The stripping of the box is the easy part!

veedubnoodle

her crazy
Fair play to ya Gav. What's actually broken in it?

I've an old transfer box off an Evo I've been meaning to strip and re-build for a few years now and I've just never felt confident enough to pull it apart, even though it's probably worth a fair whack of money when it's done lol

gav525

gav525
box a pig to remove? remember doing it on my 182 and it was not handy at all

Yes lol. Subframe can be lowered a touch, but easier to remove it so pretty much the whole of the front suspension and arms as well. Which are all of course rusted. And steering rack as well, though I left it in situ and cable tied it up. Just no room to work with at all really lol

Fair play to ya Gav. What's actually broken in it?

I've an old transfer box off an Evo I've been meaning to strip and re-build for a few years now and I've just never felt confident enough to pull it apart, even though it's probably worth a fair whack of money when it's done lol

It's crunching going into 3rd gear high up the revs just. Synchros always go in these in 3rd and 4th!

Was perfectly driveable but want it right for the next trackday just.

Pull the diff apart and see what's what. Always good to see inside and see how everything works. Take plenty photos as you go and you'll be grand. Plus I'm sure there are plenty Evo transfer box guides online if you needed the extra help.

Eamo_vxr

Slow and low!
In deep there, I think the Clutch release bearing on mine is going “197” so not looking forward to it.
Do you have a lift there or doing it on the ground?

gav525

gav525
In deep there, I think the Clutch release bearing on mine is going “197” so not looking forward to it.
Do you have a lift there or doing it on the ground?

Aye as Ben's posted above I've a lift in the shed thankfully. I see the ones on the forum doing boxes on their drive all the time and it looks horrendous lol, but definitely possible.