Cyclist behind Van

zafturbo

I'm sure quite a few of you can agree with me that when waiting at lights or coming to a stop a stop and not getting feet out of pedals ,that when you hit the ground it is fecking sore as anything and very very easy to break a wrist or anything .Its no different to standing 2 ft up a ladder and just dropping yourself over sideways .I can first hand tell you it is extremely painful at times .Unfortunately I have experienced this more than one time lol.

AMG

I'm sure quite a few of you can agree with me that when waiting at lights or coming to a stop a stop and not getting feet out of pedals ,that when you hit the ground it is fecking sore as anything and very very easy to break a wrist or anything .Its no different to standing 2 ft up a ladder and just dropping yourself over sideways .I can first hand tell you it is extremely painful at times .Unfortunately I have experienced this more than one time lol.

Besides the pain and embarassment, it's a bloody nightmare to get unclipped lying sideways on the ground! Soon learn after doing it a few times.

BBSBOY

It's like I have said before - there are two types of cyclist on the road - those who want to cycle and those who have to cycle.

Those who want to cycle will more often than not be part of a club, or at very least be licensed through British Cycling or Cycling Ireland - it's a very minimal cost so it would be stupid not to.
(i.e. they don't just have insurance, but also a license as well)
The vast majority of these cyclists will stick to the rules of the road and are very aware that they are under constant scrutiny from other road users.
The only accusation thrown at this group that is viable is that they sometimes ride two-abreast.
They are entitled to do so and do it primarily for safety - both for their own safety and to make it easier to pass (the group will be half the length of a group riding single file).
Many of these cyclists would be covering up to 200 miles a week and therefore see more than their fair share of 'near misses' on a regular basis - hence the emphasis on safety, riding 'defensively' etc.

The second group - those who cycle because they have to - are those who maybe cycle because it's their only affordable mode of transport.
I used to often see a builder in his steel toe boots, hi vis jacket and hard hat cycling through town, bouncing on/off the footpath, cycling through red lights, etc.
They aren't really part of the whole cycling fraternity and are probably riding around on 10 year old, rusty, steel bikes.
Whereas most real cyclists would probably tell you that their bike cost more than their first car and probably gets washed/serviced more often than their car.

Does this insurance cover damage to a third party's property or person though? I would imagine that any bike covered on a house insurance policy is only for theft? I'm not having a go btw, just genuinely interested.

Chris666

Often
Does this insurance cover damage to a third party's property or person though? I would imagine that any bike covered on a house insurance policy is only for theft? I'm not having a go btw, just genuinely interested.
Yes it covers 3rd party liability

weeloaney

Mazda 3 MPS AERO
lol Did this erm, cyclist, have ginger hair and a pair of skis jauntily draped over one shoulder?
^o)

Least tag me so I can see the abuse I'm getting lol.

Also I wish, I could do with the money, I'm going to of work for at least 4 weeks. Going to be picking pennies of the street by then to pay for car insurance etc.

Chris666

Often
Surely the ones covered under house insurance would not be for road risks or 3rd party liability?
Insurance through Cycling Ireland/British Cycling does, as mentioned.

Home insurance policies extending to 3rd party liability or sporting activities isn't unheard of, can be cheaper than specialist insurance

BBSBOY

Insurance through Cycling Ireland/British Cycling does, as mentioned

That's not what I'm getting at though. Only hobby cyclists would have insurance through the professional bodies. Jimmy down the road who cycles his bike to work and the shops has his bike covered under his house insurance would not be covered for taking the side out of a car as he squeezes through traffic, he would only be covered for his bike getting stolen.

Deleted member 13907

D

Yeah, third party through Cycling Ireland or British Cycling.
Mine is through Cycling Ireland - I pay them about £60/year for a limited competition license, which includes includes insurance cover and also allows me to take part in local club races.
A Cycling Ireland license (minimum leisure license) is compulsory for the majority of clubs in Northern Ireland.
Some are registered through British Cycling, but as the open races are governed by Cycling Ireland most go down that route.

Alot of cyclists will then take out a seperate additional policy to cover their own bike, especially if they are racing, etc.
Mate just bought a new bike costing £2700, insurance is about £20/month.
That means if his bike is damaged while he's out either on his own, or in a race, that particular policy will cover any repairs/replacement.

As far as I understand, the home & contents insurance will only cover theft - and even at that if the bike is particularly expensive it probably needs to be named.

EDIT: As per your other post, yes Jimmy down the road would fall into the second category of cyclists I mentioned previously and would have no insurance. You'll find that most people who do any sort of cycling will join a club (even if they have no intention of being an active member) simply to get the insurance cover.

Chris666

Often
That's not what I'm getting at though. Only hobby cyclists would have insurance through the professional bodies. Jimmy down the road who cycles his bike to work and the shops has his bike covered under his house insurance would not be covered for taking the side out of a car as he squeezes through traffic, he would only be covered for his bike getting stolen.
Automatically no, like any policy you'd have to ask for it specifically or find a broker/underwriter offering

Deleted member 13907

D
From the Cycling Ireland website:

INSURANCE
All Cycling Ireland members have personal accident and public liability insurance by virtue of their membership of Cycling Ireland. This insurance will cover you when you are out training or taking part in approved Cycling Ireland events. If you would like to be insured for training and events, you will need to join Cycling Ireland.

If you are injured or cause damage to a 3rd party (whether they are a Cycling Ireland member or not) whilst out training or at an approved Cycling Ireland event, you will need to fill out an accident and incident report form. Someone else, such as a relative/club secretary can also fill this out on your behalf. Once this is filled in, send it back to the Cycling Ireland office where it will be logged, and then sent on to the insurers. The insurers will then get in touch with you directly about your claim.

Event organisers can apply to have a venue or facility that they are hiring indemnifed against any claims made against it. Effectively this means that the venue is covered by Cycling Ireland insurance for the time period stated on the indemnity letter. There is a fee of €60 for this letter and you must fill in an indemnity request form and email it in to Cycling Ireland.

People who are non Cycling Ireland members but wish to take part in a CI event may be able to take out a one day license for this event. You should contact the event organiser to see if they will be offering one day licenses. In order to be covered under the CI insurance you will need to sign the one day license sheet which event organisers of applicable events will have on the day.

Key documents, such as the accident and incident report form, personal accident policy wording and general liability policy wording can be found here.

Cycling Ireland membership does not cover any damage/theft of bicycles.

Deleted member 13907

D
From the Cycling Ireland website:

INSURANCE
All Cycling Ireland members have personal accident and public liability insurance by virtue of their membership of Cycling Ireland. This insurance will cover you when you are out training or taking part in approved Cycling Ireland events. If you would like to be insured for training and events, you will need to join Cycling Ireland.

If you are injured or cause damage to a 3rd party (whether they are a Cycling Ireland member or not) whilst out training or at an approved Cycling Ireland event, you will need to fill out an accident and incident report form. Someone else, such as a relative/club secretary can also fill this out on your behalf. Once this is filled in, send it back to the Cycling Ireland office where it will be logged, and then sent on to the insurers. The insurers will then get in touch with you directly about your claim.

Event organisers can apply to have a venue or facility that they are hiring indemnifed against any claims made against it. Effectively this means that the venue is covered by Cycling Ireland insurance for the time period stated on the indemnity letter. There is a fee of €60 for this letter and you must fill in an indemnity request form and email it in to Cycling Ireland.

People who are non Cycling Ireland members but wish to take part in a CI event may be able to take out a one day license for this event. You should contact the event organiser to see if they will be offering one day licenses. In order to be covered under the CI insurance you will need to sign the one day license sheet which event organisers of applicable events will have on the day.

Key documents, such as the accident and incident report form, personal accident policy wording and general liability policy wording can be found here.

Cycling Ireland membership does not cover any damage/theft of bicycles.

While alot of the above is referring to specific events, a cyclist out on their own or on a club ride will be deemed to be training.

Deleted member 13907

D
In my opinion a cyclist who doesn't have basic third party insurance should not be allowed on the road. You could cause a lot of damage to a car or possibly even kill someone on a bike.

Most 'proper' cyclists would agree with you. Cycling Ireland membership starts at £30/year roughly for a leisure license - it's probably the cheapest thing about cycling.

Chris666

Often
In my opinion a cyclist who doesn't have basic third party insurance should not be allowed on the road. You could cause a lot of damage to a car or possibly even kill someone on a bike.
Could cause damage/kill, other road user groups do these things routinely hence rather high premiums. Ever been a young driver?

Again, I'd be happy if insurance was mandatory, I have plenty anyway

SMcP114

Austin Allegro
Cyclists deliberately slipping into blind spots lol

I've a Sprinter, you can see **** all out of them. Even pulling out to overtake a car on the M1 is an extreme sport

It's no different to reversing into a motorbike or some eejit walking behind you. Let the insurance handle it

I've never understood why people get so worked up about people claiming against them, it's not like you've to pay their claim in cash is it

stevieturbo

Old Ford
I've never understood why people get so worked up about people claiming against them, it's not like you've to pay their claim in cash is it

Depends whether the claim is legitimate or not.

If the van didnt actually hit the cyclist...then it could easily be argued he simply fell to the ground on his own and the van driver has no liability. However proving whether the two made contact or not will be a lot harder.

Once one person makes an accusation against another, usually the police etc take the word of the accuser over the accused unless they can provide evidence to the contrary

And if you've ever had a claim against you..you would realise yes you do pay. One way or another you pay and will continue to pay for several years through loss of NCB, increase premiums etc etc

If the claim is legit and you're totally at fault, then yes suck it up.

Deleted member 13907

D
Depends whether the claim is legitimate or not.

If the van didnt actually hit the cyclist...then it could easily be argued he simply fell to the ground on his own and the van driver has no liability. However proving whether the two made contact or not will be a lot harder.

Once one person makes an accusation against another, usually the police etc take the word of the accuser over the accused unless they can provide evidence to the contrary

And if you've ever had a claim against you..you would realise yes you do pay. One way or another you pay and will continue to pay for several years through loss of NCB, increase premiums etc etc

If the claim is legit and you're totally at fault, then yes suck it up.
Wasn't there a shop full of witnesses who came running out though - surely their testimony would prove contact or otherwise?
I'm guessing there may have been other vehicles behind the cyclist too who would probably have had a better view.

SMcP114

Austin Allegro
Witnesses don't just usually come forward for the craic. To suggest that someone went out in all their silly gear in the hope that a van would randomly present the opportunity to lodge a fraudulent claim is ridiculous

It's more logical that a cyclist was trying to get where he was going, was reversed into, and is now claiming. I understand more than most how claims work so I know that it's taken into account when your premium is renewed but the few quid your premium rises falls far short of the cost of even the most basic medical treatment

pablo

RMS Moderator
not sure if you covered it but the home insurance thing covers for 3rd party liability. its a general out and about type cover not limited to cycling.