Honda CRV 2.2 diesel (07-12) opinions and experiences, please

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

BRivtec

RMS Regular
Drives
DOHC VTEC
Thinking of getting one, in the summer, prob 08-09 with 2.2 Diesel engine and 4x4. I've no experience at all with any diesel Honda engines.
Any owners on here care to share their own views etc? Are they worth buying? Major problems? Gearbox problems?

Thanks

nobby

RMS Regular
Drives
Jap stuff
hi

we have a 12 cr-v i-dtec in ex guise. just have it over a year now. bought with around 18k on it and just out of HUK warranty.
doing my own service schedules ... huk state 12.5k but anyone with a diesel recommends shorter intervals so i am doin one every 6k
they use the dear stuff when comes to oil - 0-30 stuff ... takes 6 litres when replacing the filter
main things to look for is the active diff with 4x4 mode. make sure the oil in here (has to be honda stuff) has been changed regularly. NB HUK do not state this but there has been evidence of problems when not serviced periodically
fluid change is recommended circa every 20k ... i will likely do mine every 2nd service. what to look out for is clunking when engaging in reverse and what not
you do know that 4x4 is not permanent and also an auto function ... hence the active diff ... ecu will engage when it notices a difference in traction between front and rear wheels
Honda build's their own diesel lumps ... when they 1st entered scene they used isuzu blocks
08-09 you likely are looking at i-cdi engines and not i-dtec ... the latter having a DPF unit installed
if maintained servicing wise there should be no real issues with the honda unit. like all honda's keep an eye on oil levels.
they are timing chains so check if tensioners have been replaced based on mileage
squeaky clutch happens ... not a problem but just annoying