Motorcycle tax cost - RANT

quattro Rick

RMS Regular
Drives
quattro / M796
Fookin 96 quid to tax the bike for 12 months.
I've 3 cars at the house that don't cost that to tax for a year.

Rant over.

It's disgusting. Was less than 80 when I started riding years ago iirc.

There's no way in hell a bike creates more emission than even the lowest of emission cars, especially given most are used in fair weather.

stevieturbo

RMS Regular
Drives
Old Ford
I don't own any cars that cost that little !

And do bikes have all the emissions bull**** cars do ?

How often a bike is used, doesn't matter in terms of what it outputs when being used. Which is all the silly rules are about.

Apis

RMS Regular
Drives
various
Makes no sense at all.
And the cost of a young person getting a licence too, seems they are going out of their way to make them prohibitively expensive, yet they are one of best options for reducing city congestion.

quattro Rick

RMS Regular
Drives
quattro / M796
I don't own any cars that cost that little !

And do bikes have all the emissions bull**** cars do ?

How often a bike is used, doesn't matter in terms of what it outputs when being used. Which is all the silly rules are about.

I know it isn't a factor in their eyes. But if you compare emissions from 10k on a bike to 10k in a car, the bike will win in a landslide due to cars having to sit idle for so long through traffic.

Bikes don't sit idle in one spot for long enough to justify such a figure. Especially if a 1.0 car engine can be 20-30-40 pounds a year

Most bikes I think come with catalysts. Not really clued in with super modern ones

gary1365

RMS Regular
Drives
Great news
My 2.0 tdi costs Ā£30 a year my 125 commuter back in late 2000s were Ā£12 I think. They did 100 or more mpg everywhere with the throttle pinned wide open šŸ¤£

Gareth

RMS Regular
Drives
Honda's