My RB26 260Z Project

EF Ian

RMS Regular
OP
EF Ian
Drives
EF & 260Z GT-R
You will never be able to start it for fear of anything getting dirty 😇
Lucky I am an expert in keeping them clean.

I was thinking more about the manifolds. This thing makes a ton of heat and I'd love to go with the lagging, but I can't really justify an extra £900 right now, and because of nut and socket access it would need to be left thin in quite a few areas I am not sure I will go this route.

But I was thinking of doing one in Zircotec and one in Cerakote Glacier. Then I have the perfect test bed for it. What are the thoughts on this? I will be able to measure surface temperature differences and see how they perform.

thumbnail_IMG_8065.jpg

Last edited:

EF Ian

RMS Regular
OP
EF Ian
Drives
EF & 260Z GT-R
Finished work on this for now, few more very minor details to sort out, but its mostly there:

This part is technically a downgrade, going back to OEM. The upgrade works good and means the clocking of the turbo does not need to be so precise, but I think it doesn't look as tidy, so back to the hardpipe.

thumbnail_IMG_8084.jpg

thumbnail_IMG_8967.jpg

I required a few hose clamps in this style, so I ordered some in black to save me doing them. Turns out that is a bad idea, the finish is terrible, so I ended up doing them myself anyway.

thumbnail_IMG_8881.jpg
thumbnail_IMG_8917.jpg

Worth doing all the clips in black, much stealthier look. And of course they won't rust out

thumbnail_IMG_8340.jpg

Still love my wiring harness, so neat and well labeled

thumbnail_IMG_8339.jpg

This is why we test fit:

Some modification required to fit with the new manifolds
thumbnail_IMG_8152.jpg
thumbnail_IMG_8153.jpg

Turbo side looks great:

thumbnail_IMG_8186.jpg

thumbnail_IMG_8471.jpg

thumbnail_IMG_8189.jpg

thumbnail_IMG_8908.jpg

Test fitting complete, missing the heatshields, but a lot of the manifolds are hidden anyway, so hopefully I won't miss seeing those Tomei manifolds too much.