My S1 106 Rallye long overdue update

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
doing feck all tonite so went up to the shed to fanny about
behold lol
got some new diff seals
SL370003.jpg

SL370004.jpg

SL370005.jpg

SL370006.jpg

just like a new one lol
took the notion to start painting guff again
here's the crank seal carriers (forgot to lift the new seals out of work ffs)
SL370002.jpg

SL370007.jpg

SL370008.jpg

there was loads of paint left in the tin sooooo
SL370009.jpg

SL370010.jpg

SL370011.jpg

SL370012.jpg

SL370013.jpg

dung out the gti clutch and flywheel
boggin hi
SL370014.jpg

10min soak in sillict bang
like new
SL370015.jpg

SL370016.jpg

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
more shiney bits arrived today :up:

uprated gear selector rods

SL370030.jpg

old yokes

SL370032.jpg

SL370028.jpg

SL370029.jpg

new 1s fitted

SL370031.jpg

GMC motorsport quick shift

SL370022.jpg

SL370023.jpg

fitted

SL370026.jpg

SL370027.jpg

my racey gearknob hasnt came yet ..rage!!! will look ticket

SL370033.jpg

SL370034.jpg

more pics when the racey gearknob comes

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
few more shiney lightweight yokes

crank pulley and alternator pulley

SL370040.jpg

cheers cacks

racey jp4 rover covers and powder coated sump
SL370037.jpg

SL370038.jpg

cheers john

genuine pug/cit timming belt kit

cheers ebay lol

SL370039.jpg

where im at now is

waiting on my throttlebodies and pistons coming back, then ive to send my head away to be ported & polished the throttlebodies are being ported to match the heads

once that all comes back i'll have everything i need to get the engine in the car and running

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
just a quick pic of all the ***** i have lying about my room waiting to go on the rallye lol

IMG_00231.jpg

once i have all the parts back ill take another pic of it all before its reassembled head/block/throttlebodies etc

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
well i haven't update this in a while

so here ya's go

got my block and crank back honed&polished

excuse the ****ty pics's flat out with other stuff today, better pics later or 2marra

012-2.jpg

013-1.jpg

014-2.jpg

few pics of the polished crank

015-1.jpg

016-2.jpg

controversial lol

001-1.jpg

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
had some free time today so got some of the more tedious jobs about the block done
cleaning out all the treads in the block so i am lol
001-2.jpg

very important to clean and lubricate the mains bolts and threads to make sure you get the correct torque onto the main bearings.
piston oil jets feed and threads. again its very important to clean the old loctite out of and replace with new. you don not want 1 of these coming loose

002-3.jpg

003-5.jpg

004-4.jpg

005-1.jpg

yes every ****ing thread in the block cleaned :L
006-1.jpg

its doing my head in waiting on parts

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
well today i done a big brake conversion on my daily hack lol took the brakes of the rallye and stuck them on the derv
002-4.jpg

003-6.jpg

004-5.jpg

005-2.jpg

007.jpg

dandable stopping oul yock now lol
250243_263614406987978_100000182632209_1228318_5698018_n.jpg

anyways on to the more serious stuff set about putting the crank back in the block
started by cleaning all the bearing carriers and mating surfaces with 1200 grit to make them nice and clean
008-1.jpg

then fitted the oil jets, loctite and torqued
010-2.jpg

then test fitted bearings
012-3.jpg

014-3.jpg

015-2.jpg

happy with that it was time to fit the for real and set the crank in
lube lol
016-3.jpg

017-1.jpg

018-1.jpg

019-1.jpg

put the caps on and torque up the bolts. making sure the bolts were lubed at under the head and on the threads
022-1.jpg

final torque is measured by angle of rotation
020.jpg

job done.. just to check the end float which should be between .07-0.35
021.jpg

0.25 :thumb:
just waiting on my pistons and head comming back now
and you's up-to-date

Stuart

Saxo, 3 series
where has this been hiding? good work theres a mount on the bay at the minute to mount the 16v into the s1, looks well made

Boss Of Gloss

Astra VXR
brilliant build i bought a 421 supersprint before there the job brand new then once on... change colour nice, just watch were the 4 pipes connect to the 2... mines leaked so i just got a lip of weld to seal it shut

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
got the head back today so i did...

006-3.jpg

007-1.jpg

inlet porting
008-2.jpg

009-3.jpg

exhaust porting

011-1.jpg

012-4.jpg

combustion chamber re-working

013-3.jpg

014-4.jpg

as usual im still waiting on bits... thottlebodies pistons rods etc

Simon998

Mini
Please tell me you're mating that supersprint to a 2" outward rolled pugsport?

Look's fantastic and make's me miss my Series 1 rallyé, It was only 130bhp and was a complete hoot to drive, this should be awesome. My s2 had a 16v conversion and I always wondered what it would have been like in the S1 shell.

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
i am indeed fortunately the pugsport came on the car lol.

ive had a few gti's and vts's and completely fell in love with how they drive im hoping the s1 will be on another level

exedy clutch came today which is another part off the list :p

001-5.jpg

002-5.jpg

on closer inspection the clutch is marked AP. which im very hAppy about because AP make some top notch shizzle

Stuart

Saxo, 3 series
any progress? are you over sizing your rings, or have you just honed them a bit? where did you get a head set from?

geraldo-46

geraldo-46
Gsxr1000
no updates as of yet lads. still waiting on parts.

also the unit i have is effin baltic atm and i could not be arsed with that lol

hoping to have an update mid-end feb