NC500 Scottish route 66

DannyB

RMS Member
fireblade
Hi guys I am thinking of giving the NC500 a run in July, I was just looking to see if anyone else has done this and has any advice on the do's and don'ts ? This would be the biggest trip I have done to date and I want it to be as enjoyable as possible haha Also I am looking to change the bike beforehand as the blade just isn't comfortable enough for me for a 1000mile journey. I am height restricted so a big tourer just isn't practical and im working off a budget of about 4 grand. All advice and recommendations welcome lol

Carson

R53 JCW/A4 B8.5
Not on a bike but @Boydie has covered this in the summer, I was with him for sections too. Unreal sights ahead, that’s for sure !

Chris666

Often
Take as long as you can holiday wise, if needs be set a mileage limit per day and have time off bike to visit stuff (distilleries, castles, kayaking? etc)

Don't be a tit on the single track roads, hard place to get an ambulance into when you get wrote off by a camper van

Isle of Mull is great (y) hotel and spa is superb for a relax after a few days

DannyB

RMS Member
D
fireblade
Yea I agree there mate I am far from a racer haha I was planning about 250 miles a day and chill and sight see in the evenings?

Chris666

Often
Sounds about right, I did a couple days over 300mi and missed out on a lot of stuff constantly chasing time or a ferry booking

DannyB

RMS Member
D
fireblade
Did you pre book all your accommodation? I am assuming that's the way as I reckon it gets pretty busy at that time of year.

Boydie

S3 Revo
Where do I start?!

I’ve driven Scotland many times due to family reunions and could write you an essay on where to go, specific roads etc...

Personally speaking, I would miss out the east coast back to Inverness. Either go back the way you came and take some other roads or go down the middle, maybe the Grand Tours PENIS 287

I’ll link you to my thread which I covered the trip and previous ones throughout it.

I took 11 days but did a 1700 mile road trip from west to east to west to north to middle to back to the boat.

My last trip with @Carson

Lee

I've never done it but would watch videos on it occasionally as I plan to do it sometime on the bike.

This video is a bit long winded but very detailed and maybe worth a watch to pick up some tips.

Screenshot_20191230-182202_YouTube.jpg

Chris666

Often
Did you pre book all your accommodation? I am assuming that's the way as I reckon it gets pretty busy at that time of year.
Some of them yeah, I went early April this year but would struggle IMO to book anything in July. With @Boydie on skipping out Inverness/East coast. There's sod all to do apart from Glenmorangie Distillery (if that's your thing, and I would go to Dunnet Head quicker as they produce the official NC500 Gin)

DannyB

RMS Member
D
fireblade
Just looked through the links you guys had up it looks amazing, I may get on the ball early with accommodation for July then :grinning:
Off topic whats the 900 tracer like seen loads of positive reviews a little outta my budget atm but something id really consider down the line.

Chris666

Often
Ticks all the boxes for me which is a miracle as I was set on buying the 700 then was coerced by @warren :joy:

Comfy big bus, 200mi to a tank most days in Scotland fully loaded with hard luggage, OEM aux power outlets are superb for adding garmins etc, sounds lovely with a full system, fitted Yamahas own integrated heated grips and then I've retrofitted cruise control based on Super Tenere switchgear..

Boydie

S3 Revo
Dunnet head/john O’Groats is as far as I would go round the coast from the west but tbh, I didn’t find the north coast that amazing compared to the west.

I wish I spent more time around Kylesku and Durness in the NW.
In no particular order but photos from Loch Lomond, Crieff, Crail, Cairngorms, Skye, Ullapool, Kylesku, John O’Groats, Lairg, Applecross

B80780A9-5EEB-4C25-A416-26FB2F9FF04C.jpeg
8E7835A5-A706-4B7C-BC80-49E20238E1DC.jpeg
49814CAA-EE18-4091-A6A1-B5B1B6F9A7E2.jpeg
5F20DAFB-6221-49E6-91EE-51C6E280CC7E.jpeg
FB60BC11-8DF8-4A1F-8191-985101BD465B.jpeg
BA408C71-D9DD-4483-BD85-2350EC6A042F.jpeg
87C4EBB0-1443-4FC4-9E72-A3641B794A76.jpeg
247810F3-BB58-45CD-BBE7-768CFB865247.jpeg
70274821-B422-47D9-BB48-4BD65DC29AC6.jpeg
82E04B05-E4F4-45E5-8C3B-7BCD75C73C2D.jpeg
85B75BDD-55F3-452D-9C52-3BDAB0B338DE.jpeg
F716263E-E19C-412D-BAA9-4509C33751C3.jpeg
F4E0D093-CD00-4C9F-8D61-1C1CE2BD293E.jpeg

FM155

Alfa 155
Can't agree more with @Boydie and @Polobrat666 . Do it, take as much time as you possibly can and enjoy it. Myself and the Mrs went in July and loved it. We didn't take the East Coast from JoG and headed back West to go down along Loch Naver / Lairg etc to Inverness, Cairngorm and on back.
20190710_100440.jpg

Rest & be thankful hillclimb between Loch Lomond and Loch Inver

20190710_115028.jpg

20190710_111240.jpg

Inverary

20190710_153226.jpg

20190710_152501.jpg

Crinan Canal Sea Lock

20190711_091957.jpg

Loch Ness from Fort Agustus Old Pier House B&B (Seriously Recommended)

20190711_105600.jpg

Dornie Bridge near Eilean Donan castle.

20190711_120757.jpg

Cuillin mountain range on the way up from Kyle of Lochalsh to Portree

20190711_132052.jpg

20190711_132039.jpg

20190711_195041.jpg

20190711_195848.jpg

Portree harbour

20190711_154617.jpg

Uig

20190713_170911.jpg

The Stornaway ferry leaving Ullapool

20190714_181822.jpg

20190714_181208.jpg

20190714_153349.jpg

JoG & Duncansby Sea Stacks

20190715_121850.jpg

Bettyhill

20190715_164703.jpg

Cromarty Firth

20190716_110327.jpg

View from Cairngorm Mountain, on the way up to the base station.

Class trip, we would love to go back and spend more time on Skye.

Boydie

S3 Revo
Getting me right in the feels all this. I’ll be going again in the summer probably for our family reunion up to Findhorn so usually go up through east Cairngorms from Blairgowrie to Aviemore along the old military road (Henry catchpoole Aston Martin video) then north to the campsite.

I want to spend more time sort of direct north west of Glasgow around Oban and more time in Skye - Glencoe range is stunning as well, just the whole place is breathtaking on a gorgeous day.

@Carson and I were just dumbfounded at every corner we took, felt like we were in narnia lol

Noel McQ

Mazda 3 MPS
I went last September and took a week at it and it wasn't enough to do and see everything that I would have liked to. As said, definitely take as much time as you can and enjoy it. We did pre-book all of our accommodation and had a rough route planned before we went. The north west/west are where you would want to spend most time, though i did enjoy the east coast too.

Only problem I found with going in September was the weather, it stayed mostly dry but when you get higher up on the mountain roads there's nothing but fog, and the roads are tight enough in places!

DannyB

RMS Member
D
fireblade
Accommodation is now pre booked :grinning: going the 13th of July taking a week and planning roughly 250miles a day to leave time to chill out and take in the surroundings. Watched endless youtube videos now July wont come quick enough :rolleyes: The plan is slow and steady and pray for good weather haha

Chris666

Often
Now, plan a long weekend in the middle (like easter) to test your setup, what you'll take, space required etc. I don't camp as I enjoy beds and warm showers, but can still fill 2 hard panniers :p Topbox I use for stuff I want handy, DSLR, drone, camera batteries etc

Assuming you haven't done this before :joy: I've booked a long weekend in Wales at same time, but will be doing weekends on Wild Atlantic Way until then

DannyB

RMS Member
D
fireblade
yea ill be on a new bike by then and gonna purchase a sat nav of some form before hand as well lol a practice run sounds like solid advice ill gladly have any excuse for a bike weekend haha yea I enjoy camping but to be honest after a day on the bike I also want a bed and a shower :joy:. The only part of the trip worrying me slightly is the Bealach na Bà as a few of the lads on the videos have commented that its a tricky pass.

gav525

yea ill be on a new bike by then and gonna purchase a sat nav of some form before hand as well lol a practice run sounds like solid advice ill gladly have any excuse for a bike weekend haha yea I enjoy camping but to be honest after a day on the bike I also want a bed and a shower :joy:. The only part of the trip worrying me slightly is the Bealach na Bà as a few of the lads on the videos have commented that its a tricky pass.

Ah the Bealach is nothing to worry about at all, honestly you’ll be fine on a bike. Done it on a S1000RR nonissue at all, in driving rain and thick fog. Actually thought the Hardknott Pass in the Lake District was trickier, but still grand.

Enjoy Scotland, I can’t wait to get back. Hoping to take the Monkey bike this year for the craic

Reactions: Lee

nobby

Jap stuff
agree with @gav525, do not be worrying about Applecross when on the bike its nothing to be worried about just other road users! :grinning:
done it several times now and its always a great ride, the bar/restaurant down the other side is worhty of a visit as food is generally of good quality!
on one occasion i was there, one of the group i was with took the head staggers and would not go down again so i had to a triple run - my run, then bring her down from AC and then bring a pillion to get her bike and then for me to get down again. tiring but great craic! :grinning: