Polisher Buying Guide?

Lyons

RMS Moderator
Drives
X5 / 435D
Had a look prior to posting and couldn’t see anything. Does anyone have a guide for a complete novice looking to buy a polisher? If not, can anyone advise exactly what gear I’ll need? I’m just looking something to remove light swirls/scratches and protect the paintwork after.

I’ve no idea on the various stages in the process, never mind what products are actually good or not out of the hundreds available. I’m not going to be turning pro, so don’t want to spend a fortune on stuff, but just some kit that is good for a DIYer.

hippyross

RMS Regular
Easiest thing it a dual action polisher and the meguires microfiber kit.
The polisher is dependent on how much you want to spent pro car could probably do you a deal on something.

Lyons

RMS Moderator
OP
Lyons
Drives
X5 / 435D
Only just started looking into it. Would prefer not to spend more than £150 for what I need (happy to go second hand), but not sure that’s achievable.

Looking at that microfibre kit, are there really only 2 stages (products)- a “cream” for cutting, then another for finishing? Is finishing the polish, or wax?

I assume there are different options for abrasion strength in the cutting cream?

Last edited:

Davey@Procar

RMS Trader
the das6 pro is a great we polisher for starting out with, I have a few deals on at the moment but can do nearly anything you want, I do the megs microfiber kit aswell although I only keep the cutting compound because no one was buying the finishing wax, but best to pop over get a look and see what you what to do.
the likes of the megs cutting pads and the polish with the das6 pro rrp £185 I can do at £159.

hippyross

RMS Regular
I'd just buy the cutting discs and compound there is only one compound and cutting discs they do then use your own lsp.

NickR

RMS Regular
Drives
A6/E39 530i