Porsche 996 project

NedHan79

clio dci
I don’t be on here much but thought I’d share some of my journey with my 996. It’s a ‘98 Carrera 2 3.4 with the factory aero kit. Nicely specced with a limited slip diff amongst other things though I think at this stage the diff has pretty much had it. The car has a good history with low mileage but as with most cars that age, there’s a list of jobs needing done so I e started to work through them while modding it at the same time.
Basically it has turned into a restoration rather than just “keep it tidy” sort of thing. There has been a lot of fabrication work and it’ll have to get a coat of paint to finish it but that’s a ways off yet.
Along the way, I’ve done some mods and a lot more are planned including a porsche cup car power steering pump fitted in the front and things like making my own suspension bushes.
if anyone’s interested, I have most of it on my instagram account @nedhannon
Plenty of pictures and details available.
Feel free to give it a look

KevM

An old customer of mine used to own that car. He tried to trade it in to us and ended up selling it to who you possibly bought it off. It used to have an awful turquoise re-trimmed interior in it. Good car! Id love a decent 996

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
An old customer of mine used to own that car. He tried to trade it in to us and ended up selling it to who you possibly bought it off. It used to have an awful turquoise re-trimmed interior in it. Good car! Id love a decent 996
Yeah some one else said about the interior. It has black sports seats now but I’m planning on changing them. I also got it with some nice carbon fibre tequipement bits. The steering wheel I sold for an omp one. I’d love to find out more on the history if you know of any

Lyons

RMS Moderator
X5 / 435D
Sounds like an interesting project! Post the photos up here too, its easily done using the "Attach files" button, and you can upload from your phone. Not everyone will have Instagram.

If the P1 referred to above is an Impreza, photos of it are required too.

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
Thanks. I’ve taken that many of the Carrera in bits to figure out what I’m doing when building it again. The outer and inner sills were completely rotten so I had to fabricate the whole thing from scratch. I also cut out and made new rear arches while I was at it along with a lot more. It’s been a steep learning curve but the fab works pretty much finished. It’s getting a full overhaul of suspension and anything else that needs doing. All on a budget though as parts for these can be extortionate if you don’t know what your at.
gambit how’s it going? You should know I’d have to get a little tinker at it. How’s my turbo?
The p1 was a good going thing. A money box with no arse.lol

Attachments

• 36A31568-CBE1-4C24-8088-7CF6E2ECAEFB.jpeg
    36A31568-CBE1-4C24-8088-7CF6E2ECAEFB.jpeg
    165.8 KB · Views: 249
  • 2C65F61A-8E91-41E1-9442-76AE8B3A2BA6.jpeg
    2C65F61A-8E91-41E1-9442-76AE8B3A2BA6.jpeg
    267.3 KB · Views: 326

Woodcutter

Fishing for Intsa likes are ye?? lol

You can't start a thread about your car and then tell us go go see in on Instagram! Get some pics up, sounds like an interesting project.

I've been half tempted by a cheap 996 project myself, Phil Raby has a nice silver one for sale at the moment.

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
The 996 is a great yoke though the Aeros are big enough money. Standard ones are well worth the money but a bit plain for me. That said, my sills are rotten because of the skirts so standard cars aren’t as bad. Yet.
also I’ve the m030 sports suspension so it’s on the hard side. I’m developing my own solid bush kit and polybushes for it so it’ll be hard when it’s sorted. I need togo through my photos and see what I can find. Don’t have any decent ones of the car but have loads of my work. Some of those pictures are with the outer sill cut off so the rusty bits are more than skin deep

Attachments

• A7D95EE6-A8A1-4530-8CFB-119CF08901B2.jpeg
    A7D95EE6-A8A1-4530-8CFB-119CF08901B2.jpeg
    330.6 KB · Views: 287
  • 92FBA74E-6B2A-4CB7-9E92-145708553463.jpeg
    92FBA74E-6B2A-4CB7-9E92-145708553463.jpeg
    383.7 KB · Views: 267
  • AEE4ADF8-A488-4C17-9C37-3C209E3B35EA.jpeg
    AEE4ADF8-A488-4C17-9C37-3C209E3B35EA.jpeg
    346.6 KB · Views: 253
  • 48BFC818-AE49-4167-B80F-0608FCB85E02.jpeg
    48BFC818-AE49-4167-B80F-0608FCB85E02.jpeg
    384.6 KB · Views: 245
  • B23F6FCE-D48D-4C5B-9885-BFC32DE65A8B.jpeg
    B23F6FCE-D48D-4C5B-9885-BFC32DE65A8B.jpeg
    410.5 KB · Views: 388
  • C3B3277E-14B2-4DD8-BAF8-7E547566C48B.jpeg
    C3B3277E-14B2-4DD8-BAF8-7E547566C48B.jpeg
    266.9 KB · Views: 240
  • CB179164-85BA-44C7-BE5D-3D10AE92B82D.jpeg
    CB179164-85BA-44C7-BE5D-3D10AE92B82D.jpeg
    190.6 KB · Views: 249
  • 89660B9C-2179-4250-A0EA-F55091C4DADB.jpeg
    89660B9C-2179-4250-A0EA-F55091C4DADB.jpeg
    254.2 KB · Views: 223
  • D5AEF6A1-047B-4FDD-86DB-C000485DA592.png
    D5AEF6A1-047B-4FDD-86DB-C000485DA592.png
    918.5 KB · Views: 247

warren

Will give you a follow on insta! Im sure that will be epic when your done. I didn't think Porsches rusted that bad, would almost have thought that was an MX5 underneath :laughing:

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
Will give you a follow on insta! Im sure that will be epic when your done. I didn't think Porsches rusted that bad, would almost have thought that was an MX5 underneath :laughing:
It was a real surprise when I started poking around. Can’t wait to get it done.
the only real reason I did it on instagram is that I can put a lot of my progress on without people trolling me with abuse as to why bother etc. It’s just a way for me to keep a record of what I’ve done in case I ever sell it but after the work that’s gone into it, I’d say it’ll be a keeper.
also getting into a local forum like this is good for sourcing local skilled people for painting and that sort of thing.
I’m always open to suggestions and ideas btw. This is a toy to be played with and I’m keen to improve on the standard car for track days and the likes

cormac81

GTI, VRS, Superb
Welcome along Ned! Following you already on Instagram. Peadar give me your number must get a chat with ye about my mk2.

Gambit

Didn't think they would rot that bad?! would make me think twice now about 996's, or probably just make me think where to look now on them lol

gambit how’s it going? You should know I’d have to get a little tinker at it. How’s my turbo?
Turbo still going grand (y) :grinning: sitting about 400bhp at mo still a fair bit left in it also!

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
Good to see you on here mate, will get over and see the car at some point 👍🏻
Anytime boyo👍
Didn't think they would rot that bad?! would make me think twice now about 996's, or probably just make me think where to look now on them lol

Turbo still going grand (y) :grinning: sitting about 400bhp at mo still a fair bit left in it also!
I always dreamed of 400.lol
Welcome along Ned! Following you already on Instagram. Peadar give me your number must get a chat with ye about my mk2.
Shout when ever ya want.👍

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
A few more random pictures of the new sills painted along with new jacking points etc. All plastered in seam sealer and upol to keep the water out.
also the trw electric power steering pump mounted in the frunk though only where it’s place, none of it actually finished. That should help balance out the rear engine😂

Attachments

• 48516510-38A2-4E18-A55A-5DB952DFAF9E.jpeg
    48516510-38A2-4E18-A55A-5DB952DFAF9E.jpeg
    206 KB · Views: 212
  • 8F1B5C84-C33F-411E-8D52-69EA993BCC7B.jpeg
    8F1B5C84-C33F-411E-8D52-69EA993BCC7B.jpeg
    258.4 KB · Views: 208
  • F5B2C438-89B8-4CCB-8D66-A49F384B2D9A.png
    F5B2C438-89B8-4CCB-8D66-A49F384B2D9A.png
    854.6 KB · Views: 207
  • 3D7AF2FE-FE6E-42DD-9A5E-9A34111DEF13.jpeg
    3D7AF2FE-FE6E-42DD-9A5E-9A34111DEF13.jpeg
    241.3 KB · Views: 196
  • 7A33288A-7EC2-46C2-AB91-C65F33DEACA4.jpeg
    7A33288A-7EC2-46C2-AB91-C65F33DEACA4.jpeg
    285.8 KB · Views: 201
  • A1335F7D-CE5C-486C-8180-3BD46AAC3662.png
    A1335F7D-CE5C-486C-8180-3BD46AAC3662.png
    1.4 MB · Views: 221

KevM

Have to say, I never ever thought a 996 would been eaten so badly

It looked totally immaculate when I seen it. That wouldn’t have been two years ago

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
Have to say, I never ever thought a 996 would been eaten so badly

It looked totally immaculate when I seen it. That wouldn’t have been two years ago
I never thought immaculate when I was buy it but thought it was ok. I had a lot of back problems so I wasn’t fit to really get under it for a proper look and I took the chance. That was October 2018 I think. The car had been waxoiled and that always bugged me because I couldn’t see the true condition. Mot was up in June and I had a rotten brake pipe, the one that runs up over the gearbox so it was gona be a lot of work to sort. I decided to pull it in, clean the waxoil off and sort any bits that needed work.
the skirts on these reach well in under the car so they can hold a lot of crap. Someone had patched both sills at the rear, badly, painted it with an underseal and then had the whole thing waxoiled. A standard car won’t have the same issues as there’s no skirts but I am starting to see them crop up and at the front it looked like they were rotting from the inside out.
new skirts are only available from porsche atm and are in 2 sections, the rear part being the quarter panel so I decided to make it all rather than go bankrupt.
I still have to pull the engine out and do other bits before paint but I think I’m well over the worst

pablo

RMS Moderator
For a 22 year old car that doesn’t seem that bad at all. Nice work in getting it taken care of now though.

I had an 02 996 and loved it I defo need to scratch the 911itch again sometime.

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
Bit of an update on the Carrera. I have so much done that I don’t know where to start. The fabrication work was finished, painted, Seam sealed and painted with up gravitex.
Lately I have dropped the engine and box out. Work includes lightweight flywheel and new clutch, AOS, low temperature thermostat, cleaned the injectors, fresh oil and filter, new gear oil. New rms and checked the ims. Loads of other small jobs like fixing vacuum leaks and re-greasing the starter.
The air con pump was ripped out as I ripped the rest out ages ago saving around 10kgs for the whole system. As I have mounted the trw power steering pump in the frunk, I pulled out the power steering pump and lines. I had to come up with a solution for a pulley and save weight so I made something from the old pump.
Can’t remember what else.

while the engine was out, I sorted out and crusty bits though I didn’t need the welder, clean and treat was ok here. All primed, sealed and primed again and painted white.
I’m painting the car but unsure of colour so I went for a neutral colour and I thought white would do the job nicely. Had trouble with the gun on the final top coat but it’s a grand job for in there.
Engines back in and running sweet. Just building up the rest of the rear. Had a few issues with some of my bespoke bushes but all sorted.
all new brake lines also.
There’s loads more that I’ll never remember but that’s where im at atm.
The hours clocked up in this thing are crazy but it has to be right. ill try and get some decent photos up here
Ready to go back in
Just in

Attachments

• 2DBC1976-EE1A-4692-AF2E-A55027F7AA8C.png
    2DBC1976-EE1A-4692-AF2E-A55027F7AA8C.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 169
  • 310861F4-E2A3-4189-837D-C4A1449A7599.jpeg
    310861F4-E2A3-4189-837D-C4A1449A7599.jpeg
    301.5 KB · Views: 172

NedHan79

NedHan79
clio dci
Rear subframes with my own gt3 spec solid bushes, my own poly dog bone bushes, adjustable toe arms and hel braided brake lines
Engine bay painted with the upol stone chip painted up over the seams

Attachments

• B1A0EED3-ECAE-4E32-9BC1-806A8A6A092E.jpeg
    B1A0EED3-ECAE-4E32-9BC1-806A8A6A092E.jpeg
    544.4 KB · Views: 168
  • BDA44A09-98A0-437D-A880-F13090831E95.jpeg
    BDA44A09-98A0-437D-A880-F13090831E95.jpeg
    286.5 KB · Views: 155

gav525

Great work mate, will be like a new car when you're done!

May need some advice on dropping the engine out of mine in a few months time to do some preventative maintenance. Looks straightforward enough going by YouTube videos and online guides. You find it easy enough?