Private plate query

jinjur

RMS Regular
Drives
Clio 172
Hi all,

Okey dokey....it is wifey mcwifeface's birthday next month ( a big'un ) and among other things, I was thinking of getting her a quirky little reg for her car.

Now, I have never done this before so please excuse the probably quite dumb questions.

First question, I was wondering if there were any local boys who would look after stuff like this of if RMS'ers get any fancy pants rates for these things anywhere? The plate that I have my eye on is hardly that fancy, probably means more to her than anyone else on earth.....so it seems to be only ~160 quid on most sites online.

I was also wondering, that most sites seem to ask for 160 for the plate then 80 to allocate it to a car. Is it possible to get the plate without allocating it ?(wifey is also looking at another car.....i know.....while i drive the sheeetbox) so don't know if it would be a waste allocating it to this one.....not sure right now.

What happens to her old reg? Does that disappear into regland?

Any idea how long these things take to do? i have probably been a bit slow off the mark given I have 3 weeks left :/

Thanks all

J

hannakournikova

RMS Regular
Hi all,

Okey dokey....it is wifey mcwifeface's birthday next month ( a big'un ) and among other things, I was thinking of getting her a quirky little reg for her car.

Now, I have never done this before so please excuse the probably quite dumb questions.

First question, I was wondering if there were any local boys who would look after stuff like this of if RMS'ers get any fancy pants rates for these things anywhere? The plate that I have my eye on is hardly that fancy, probably means more to her than anyone else on earth.....so it seems to be only ~160 quid on most sites online.