R32... Practical????

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

chris B

RMS Regular
Drives
vw bora
Hey guys and girls, Ive been driving practical and sensible cars for a few years now, mostly turbo diesels. My last 'performace' car was a vti civic. But now im free and single again, I Want to get something fast again. Im a Vdub man now so no jap cars interest me atm, so its really a r32 im after. Does anyone here have 1 or know much about them?? I price of the car alone is gonna leave a dent in my pocket so I dont wana get nailed with fuel costs, ins and services etc.. I travel 28 miles a day to work and back. Any thoughts folks?

Gaz

This space available for rent
Drives
M4 Comp Pack
My mate's mate's dad has one and gets 25mpg on average (y)

Seriously though, Mk4 or Mk5? I've been looking at a few recently and they're as practical as any other hatch, plenty of bootspace, decent ride, etc. The only big difference would be the running costs as they do like a drink.

Bigman

RMS Regular
Drives
M516D
I had one for a week i can tell you my experiences..

I loved it..very comfy- refined and smooth..plus the noise of the v6 too!!!

the bad parts- sometimes it can be too smooth you'd think youre not going anywhere quick lol..no rush or urge..not a bad thing for me now though- hate revvin the hell out of the civic lol.. so id still take the R32 :grinning:

Fuel comsumption was poo..didnt get over 24mpg when i drove it-thats my motorway miles too and it was expensive to fill the full tank :grinning:

Hope that helps

Boydie

RMS Regular
Drives
S3 Revo
MK5 GTI will average over 30mpg with more tuning potential

Remap alone will see it roughly on power with the R32

Gaz

This space available for rent
Drives
M4 Comp Pack
Noise Boydie, noise. I was out in an R32 with full Milltek and it sounded awesome (y)

Coog

Admin
Drives
GTI