Renault Clio 172 - help

jinjur

Clio 172
Hi gang,

Bit of a long winded ramble here chaps so bear with me.

It is running on to 12 years since i took ownership of my little Clio 172 and she is very much a little pensioner now. You all know that I am very hands on with this little wagon and I am very confident on working on anything mechanical to the extent that the larger and more daunting jobs (timing belt, gearbox replacement etc) have been done by myself now. Mechanically, I have got to THAT place, you know the place. When something happens, I usually know the cause before even opening the bonnet....lol.

But.

As of late, my issue has been ( I suspect ) with electrics/electronics and its is becoming a real thorn in the side of the ownership of this wee yoke.

I could ramble on for ages about symptoms etc but IMO, they have been changing forever and might be completely irrelevant, if i detail the issue that I noted recently that might simplify things.

Wee trip up to the north coast required both cars (too many bicycles) so the Clio was filled to the guzzies with my fave, Texaco Super before the run. Somewhere around 60 quids worth.

I have been having really ****y misfires/hesitations for a long time and the parts cannon was fired a while back, all to no avail.

The misfires would typically be at low revs, any gear. Seems a bit ignition like but also, sometimes feels like a mixture misfire. Its the sort of misfire that would catch you out of pulling out of a junction or starting from standstill on a hill, you know....the WORST kind. Then, when you finally get past that the car is away like a rocket. No misfires when tramping on.........or so i thought.

So finally got into the cruise to the coast and into the "sit back and relax zone" after Applegreens @ Antrim and this is where i noticed that something was....different. Driving at 70 and lifting off the accelerator ever so slightly I can feel what I can only describe as a misfire that is REALLY hard to notice under the commotion/buzzing and exhaust snort. I know that sounds dippy but its how it feels. There are also certain speeds you get to (motorway speeds) that it categorically feels to be, well.....not smooth. Hesitating, misfiring.....but it is almost masked by the momentum of the car, you know? Yet when you get on the gas it goes.

Also, when you pull up to a sliproad junction at the end of a motorway run doing all this misfiring nonsense, it just drops to idle fine. No sign of misfiring. Of course when I pull away, 9 out of 10 times I will have a period of "oh my god this is where i die" hesitation then off she goes.

Last but very not least observation, on the run from Belfast to Bushmills, half of a brimmed tank is gone. And when the gauge says half is gone, I know that half is actually gone. Yet, the mpg for the run averaged at 30'ish which is very low but not low enough to warrant AMG Mercedes economy.

Something that I was ridiculed on Cliosport for perhaps sounds crazy but here it is. The car smells very VERY different. It used to smell very "petrol/cat/clean running" sort of thing but now, it smells........well..........like, you know the smell of a big power Jap car or......something........lol.......mad I know but the smell it makes has changed. I have also noted the exhaust cracks and squeaks wayyyyyy more after a run. This all sounds nuts I know but I just dont know if its relevant or not. I guess it is as the smell of the exhaust, the heat generated etc etc are all dictated by the running.

Things that were included in the part cannon

O2 sensors - both
plugs
plug leads
coil
crank sensor

Timing has been checked on multiple occasions (new cam caps every time fml) and it is ALWAYS on point. Yes, genuine Renault tools.

Would appreciate either:

Someone calling me a bawbag and telling me what I am missing

or

Someone recommending an utter wizard who can help me just fix this as the last time i posted on Cliosport I was told to put it on a boat to the mainland to get a specialist to fix it instead of me trying to work out what is wrong myself. Man, that place has changed, such a slagging I got :worried:

IMO, I need someone who isn't spooked by Renaults/F4R engines/Renault Clip diagnostics and someone who can just work this out.

I am losing it lads

J

KevM

Vacuum leak or a temp sensor causing over-fuelling?

PS our head tech in work, will sort that.

Ben P

BMW F33/A6C7
With my old 182.
I had similar and changed the throttle pedal. Which I though solved it for a while.

But turned out the loom had issues at bulkhead.

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
Hi gang, thanks for the suggestions.......all good stuff.

I should have updated my "parts cannon".......temp sensor and thermostat was indeed one of the initial list as well as a belly full of proper Renault coolant. This was done when the heater matrix burst. That was a wonderful and joyous job tbh :/

Vacuum leak, fuel pump and loom all noted.

I had thought the pedal or body myself and might be prudent to eyeball them although neither has ever thrown the "track" issues that is associated with failure. Still potential tho.

@KevM your head tech would be a good candidate to sort this you think? Where is your place?

J

KevM

I think Ben tagged him possibly.

His name is Chris & I believe he did have a 205 with an Mi16 at one point!

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
Cheers @KevM will hopefully hear back from the same fella then :grinning:

Hey @brendy7 ....... yeah, it's rarely off the diagnosic these days :laughing: .......... i use RSTuner at home for my main diagnosing (it's fairly good tbh) and there are currently no faults. Nothing historic either

Gambit

id hazard a guess at fuel pump/fuel filter which is causing it to run lean which is why its misfiring and your exhaust smell has changed as exhaust temps have increased.

grand at idle as it can get enough fuel to idle but any demand/fluctuation it struggles

inspecting the plugs would show if its running lean

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
Another thing to throw into the mix, thanks @Gambit

How would I explain the quite horrific mpg though..............perhaps the car trying to compensate in other ways?

Last time I checked the plugs ( a pain because the inlet manifold has to come off.......ffs France ) they were pretty sooty. I think lean is like a white hue right?

Will check the plugs again when I get a chance next although to be honest, I am nearing the point of handing it to someone.

This is also a MAP sensor based car (rather than MAF) and that is another thing which hasn't been replaced but I did swap it with @Simon998 car on here and noted no change. The figures for pressure look about right too. But that in itself would lean to the importance of vacuum leaks and checking that. So might consider a garage who can do a proper smoke test for me

I think fundamentally the car is running really rich, well.....it has to be given the most recent usage. But i have never ever seen smoke out of it you know........

p.s. you should also hear it when i touch the throttle at cold start. it is PURE top fuel dragster and the garage absolutely reeeks of petrol. imo, that in itself rules out the o2 sensors as they aint even in use at that stage and once again, it never used to do that :/

J

Coog

Admin
GTI
Have you checked what the temp sensor is feeding the ECU with your scan tool? Does it make sense?

KevM

My Golf did the same. It had both a temp sensor and a cold-start sensor. The cold start sensor was bad and the car thought it was constantly cold and poured pints of fuel into the engine.

My E55 came to me with an EML on. Instead of posting on a car forum for advice on how to reject a used car, whilst ringing a solicitor, I had a quick look under the bonnet, heard a hiss. Grabbed a pair of scissors, cut 10mm off the end of a split hose, reconnected it, put the light off and had a beer happy! šŸ˜œ

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
My Golf did the same. It had both a temp sensor and a cold-start sensor. The cold start sensor was bad and the car thought it was constantly cold and poured pints of fuel into the engine.

My E55 came to me with an EML on. Instead of posting on a car forum for advice on how to reject a used car, whilst ringing a solicitor, I had a quick look under the bonnet, heard a hiss. Grabbed a pair of scissors, cut 10mm off the end of a split hose, reconnected it, put the light off and had a beer happy! šŸ˜œ
lol. I wish I had a light ffs. that is what is confusing me and is making me think that its maybe something physical.

Another fair point Coog.......pretty sure it is on the money temp wise but I will verify this on the drive back home.

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
Well, on the drive into the office this morning from "TheBush(tm)" the car managed 11mpg for the first few miles..............running like an absolute tit. After it warmed up it seemed better but still doing that masked misfire thing. Averaged (according to the comp.) 29mpg.......which is low i would say.

From my stupid wee OBD reader temps looked ok but I dont trust it so will connect the laptop with RSTuner for the run back tonight and will log the results.

I don't want to say it is intermittent (as that is TERRIBLE) but there are times when the misfire really isn't apparent and it is a lively we yoke when you demand it

GavRS182

RS Clio 182
Another tag of @mi16chris who has specialist knowledge in Renault sports.

Cliosport.net can be love/hate place, perhaps search past threads on it based on keywords of running rich.

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
Cheers bro, has been tagged a few times but nothing from him :/

Yep, trust me bud, I have been through most, if not all threads on CS. I foolishly believed the "replace the injectors" train that was broadcast to me time and time again. No difference. Nada.

After that, all i get is take it to a specialist

I would say that the lions share of the people on that site are in no way hands on but are happy to copy / paste and ridicule.

J

KevM

I'm back to work tomorrow, I'll say to him to fire you a message. I know he's busy at the minute

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
Busy is a good sign brother ;)

Would appreciate that man, thanks

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
Just thought I would update this with the resolution (in case there is ANYONE out there with a 172 with the same issue - not likely)

The parts cannon had been fired at this car a number of times so most things are real fresh, most recently the map sensor which caused the crazy running. A bit of digging found that this was actually the Renault part as VDO/Continental had bought the Siemens sensor division and the part numbers were the same. So the map sensor was not faulty at all.

Given this, I looked deeper into what was happening and noted that the long term fuel trim was locked at -50 and the short term fuel trim was absolutely pinned at +100%.

The LTFT was not changing at all.

I then read the importance of fuel trims on a Volvo forum article and how resetting them periodically is a good thing.

So I took a gamble and blew on my remap again (just to overwrite the existing one) which effectively resets all the calibrations to base, still keeping the remap though.

Boom (not exploded boom)

Instantly fixed.

Car idles like a dream, returns 33+mpg average and goes like stink again :grinning:

I think over the 10 years the map has been on and with various faulty sensors, low reporting sensors, dodgy coil, injectors, leads and finally map sensor, it had its sums all wrong and just did not know how to get back to a proper running state.

Now, LTFT is at 0 and STFT fluctuates around +/-15% which is think is within tolerance.

Doesn't explain the LTFT still not changing after a week or so driving so I might look at the O2 sensor after the cat to make sure it is ok as I believe this plays a part but all in, we are sorted again guys.

Thanks for the advice and offers of help all

J

Ben P

BMW F33/A6C7
@jinjur Bit of a tangent here... (cant remember if I have asked this before actually!)

Did this car used to sit near University Road, Belfast?
Did you ever have a note left on your windscreen asking if it was forsale?
If so it was me about 10 years ago!

jinjur

jinjur
Clio 172
LOL! It did (and still does)...............you know there were times I wanted to take you up on that query but a room move within the building lost said note :laughing:

Jeez, long time ago brother. Did you ever get your hands on one?

As you can see, I weathered the storm of Clio ownership

J

Ben P

BMW F33/A6C7
LOL! It did (and still does)...............you know there were times I wanted to take you up on that query but a room move within the building lost said note :laughing:

Jeez, long time ago brother. Did you ever get your hands on one?

As you can see, I weathered the storm of Clio ownership

J

Ha. Small world!
I used to work across the road in First Trust Bank back then.
At lunch Id take a dander about and it always caught my eye.
Yea, I got a RB182 in the end!

You've done well to keep a car that long!