Resetting ECU

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

Rob

RMS Regular
Drives
Amarok V6
Ive a few bolt on mods on my engine and a couple about to go on, namely a BMC kit and larger throttle body.

Im told that resetting the ECU is a good idea (done by disconnecting the battery for an hour) as it lets the ECU learn how best to cope with the new mods, especially if driven hard for the first few miles after resetting.

I can kind of see how this would help but Im not convinced, can anyone reassure me this is a sensible thing to do or are half the members of FFOC going mad??

Bryan

RMS Regular
Sounds like a good idea to me.

The ECU will "learn" new settings based upon the engine configuration when it's booted up again after disconnecting the battery. Therefore I can understand how this would be a good idea when adding mods. I'm no expert though so don't take my word for it.

Rob

RMS Regular
OP
Rob
Drives
Amarok V6
brendy said:
cant see how a stock ecu can take notice and use a larger plenum without throwing up some errors.

thats why Im asking the question as Im not sure myself how beneficial it can be.

however nobody has ever reported any error codes, apart from when the larger throttle body isnt installed correctly and results in a vacuum leak!

RMS_CLK

RMS Regular
Heard a few people talk about this before, but I cant see how the ecu can account for your mods without a re-map. The ecu only reads values sent by the sensors then uses a big complicated map to work out how to actuate controllers for your engine. Dunno how it would do this any differently if you plug it out and leave it 4 a while.
For better expert advice try speaking to the guys on the forum at www.onboarddiagnostics.co.uk These guys are pro's a serial programming ecu's and how ecu's work.

BigJoe

RMS Regular
Drives
FR-V - Civic