Tesla Charging with 32A Commando socket

stevieturbo

RMS Regular
Drives
Old Ford
A proper wallbox will ( should ) have various safety features as has been covered in the charger thread.

So no, trying to plug the car into a random socket....is not a good idea.

But potentially you could plug the charger unit into the 32A to save a little new wiring.

needforspeed07

RMS Regular
OP
N
Drives
SEAT
Right so help needed! I’ve been charging my EV using a 32A commando socket for a couple of months now and have been reading a lot of comments of late regarding risk of electrocution without the necessary safety devices installed which has me slightly concerned.
My install is simply a commando socket installed outside fed of a distribution board with a 32a RCBO.
How do I go about making this setup safer?
I’ve read a lot about the need for PEN protection. What is PEN Protection and how do I go about installing it? Rough idea on cost?
Can you get an all-in-one RCD/PEN device that sorts all of this?
Do I need a seperate earth spike also?

Woodcutter

RMS Regular
Save yourself the grief and get a proper EV charger installed. Home insurance would be a worry with a home made set up surely? You're just giving them a reason to invalidate a potential claim.

stevieturbo

RMS Regular
Drives
Old Ford
Right so help needed! I’ve been charging my EV using a 32A commando socket for a couple of months now and have been reading a lot of comments of late regarding risk of electrocution without the necessary safety devices installed which has me slightly concerned.
My install is simply a commando socket installed outside fed of a distribution board with a 32a RCBO.
How do I go about making this setup safer?
I’ve read a lot about the need for PEN protection. What is PEN Protection and how do I go about installing it? Rough idea on cost?
Can you get an all-in-one RCD/PEN device that sorts all of this?
Do I need a seperate earth spike also?

Exactly what vehicle and charging method ?