Where to start.

big_pete

RMS Regular
Drives
Soulless pos
So for many many years I have fancied a bike. Been speaking to a few people about it and anyone that has one absolutely loves it.

I have no experience on a bike at all and at 33 a few friends have said I'm too learn safely now? Is that really the case.

Also would I be better doing direct access and buying a 600 etc straight away.

I had thought about buying a 125 and just spending my time learning how to ride first of all?

Lastly I'm 6ft4 will that have much effect on riding certain bikes.

If I should go ahead, where do I start and are there any instructors on here?

Thanks. I am a complete noob but every time I get a bike in for coatings it just excited me all over again lol

Cooper

Site Manager
Drives
C63 / Emira
I did direct access a few years back it’s the way to go. Proper training from an instructor from the word go. Sadly no bikes currently in the Cooper household. Yet.

quattro Rick

RMS Regular
Drives
quattro / M796
Over 24 and you can only do direct access I would imagine. The CBT will cover you for 2 years to ride an L class bike solo

At 24 I did the direct access and bought a 803cc naked bike, brilliant for starting out on, as it was around 85hp, the 600cc gixxer I have now would be faster top end but the torque from the v twin Ducati made it accelerate well

I'd say you will be absolutely fine on any 600 especially at 33. If you can get the hang of the positioning and balance everything else is rather natural

Oh and A+ motorcycle academy were fantastic instructors. Worth the journey, I traveled from Warrenpoint to Lisburn for lessons with Ali and Rollo

SlowRider

RMS Regular
Definitely do the direct access and get on a 600cc. They are obviously bigger and more powerful but that extra weight will help with stability once you're up and moving. A 600 will also be more exciting for longer and more likely to get used once the novelty has worn off and you realise a 125 is sloooow.