Working In The Motor Trade-good For Insurance?

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

mmc01

RMS Regular
my insurance renewal is up at the start of november,
currently paying £1500 odd under my mums name on a mk1 leon tdi.

thing is, i now work in the motor trade. meaning im covered to drive anything through work.. but obviously this doesnt cover my personal use.

do insurance companies appreciate this or should i keep my mouth shut and stick with being 'a part time student' when getting my renewal?

NI_Volvo_Nut

RMS Regular
Drives
Volvo's!
You need to inform them legally, if not, should something happen, you make not be covered

Generally when insurance company's find out your in the motor trade, it gives them an excuse to use an even bigger shaft! Some companys have also started removing the 3rd part extention for member in the motor trade

mmc01

RMS Regular
OP
M
thought that, have a day off next week so going to call into a few places.. in theory it should make it go down. as im driving on someone elses policy day in, day out..
but nothing is that simple with insurance i suppose.

whyme?

RMS Regular
Drives
Mk IV Golf
Yeah they don't give TPE. My insurance messed up and put it on my cert last year. When I renewed they removed it without telling me. I never really use it, but if I'm driving someone else's car I always take my licence and ins with me. It was only when I needed to drive a friends car down south that I read my policy to see if the TPE would cover me and realised it was no longer there. Lucky I caught on when I did and didn't get caught driving on the few occasions I've borrowed a car this year.
My own fault for not reading my renewal docs I suppose. But in reality who does

RoniN

RMS Regular