Becoming a Motor Trader - Help needed please

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

Jibb90

Drives
RR Sport
Hi all!! :grinning:

I am looking for some information on becoming a legitimate motor trader. I have been buying and selling cheap cars (sub 1k) for around 6 months now, i want to keep on doing this but don't want to get in trouble for it so what i'm wanting to know is what i need to do in order to be able to do this without the risk of getting bitten by the authorities. I also want to grow into a proper car dealer within the next few years! (y)

I'm otherwise unemployed (not on jobseekers though). I have a trade motor insurance policy so thats all ok. But I want to start declaring my earnings/profit - do i need to register as a sole trader? I really no nothing about this whole thing.

I will be working from home as i have a large driveway and some land, garage etc.

Thanks a lot in advance guys.

bigsigh

RMS Regular
Drives
BMW M2
Register with the Inland Rev as self employed
Start paying Class whatever national insurance
Fill in a Self assesment every April and be taxed

Jibb90

OP
Jibb90
Drives
RR Sport
Register with the Inland Rev as self employed
Start paying Class whatever national insurance
Fill in a Self assesment every April and be taxed

is there no registering as a motor trader lark to do then? is registering as self employed the same as registering as a sole trader?

do i have to register as a ltd company or can i just make up a company name and go on ahead?

bigsigh

RMS Regular
Drives
BMW M2

bigsigh

RMS Regular
Drives
BMW M2
No Prob, i did the Go for it Program through Invest NI as did a brave few others on here, different people had different exeperiences with it but personally i found it to be useful. Good place to start anyway. Good luck with it (y)

Jibb90

OP
Jibb90
Drives
RR Sport
for car sales?