Digi tacho?

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

big-lew18

RMS Regular
Drives
really well!
I've been driving HGV'S for about 5 years now but only last week started a company that uses digi tachos so not too savvy with this.

Today I let the lorry run away down a hill. When I noticed the light flash on the tacho it said "30 overspeed" I know it had run away to over 60mph by 2-5mph. Our cards are downloaded every night then analysed by tachomaster. The boy in our depot who deals with this said I could expect an infringment letter. But can I actually be booked for it? Or just a letter of warning to the manager about my card?

Last week I know I done just over 60mph but it didn't flash up the "30 overspeed" on the tacho screen

Wild Thing

RMS Regular
big brother is always watching, should it be tachos or trackers, hence why you hate getting stuck behind a tescos lorry, 40mph everywhere apart from the super slab. DOE may issue a penality if card is inspected

big-lew18

RMS Regular
OP
big-lew18
Drives
really well!
I was told that vosa will only take action if it's 3 strikes over a certain period of time. But I'm unsure of that

Gazzerone

RMS Regular
I drive HGV's too.

Relax, it's very easily done and I'd be very surprised if you hear anything at all about it.

If VOSA were to chase up every single HGV driver who ran over the limiter by a few miles an hour, then they'd have a mountain of work & very little time to do anything else!

Know from experience that some companies I've worked for had/have their own internal penalty system for minor infringements, could be that type of letter he's talking about! Just keep yourself right on the driving hours/rest times etc... (y)

Wild Thing

RMS Regular
Sit tight and see what comes of it, decent hgv drivers are becoming a rare commodity these days, stay within the law and you will be fine

big-lew18

RMS Regular
OP
big-lew18