Down Rally

Graham

Press Cars
Press Release 1 [font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]
McGrady Insurance Down Rally 2005

Organised & Promoted By Rathfriland Motor Club
Friday 16th September 2005

For Immediate Release
The Countdown has begun!

Rathfriland Motor Club are delighted to annouce the all new, for 2005, Down Rally. We are also delighted to announce at this stage, that the event is being sponsored by McGrady Insurance.

Event Regulations and Entry Forms are now available and have been posted out to many competitors already but incase you aren't on our mailing list, you can retrieve a set from our all new website @ http://www.rathfrilandmotorclub.com/downrally

The event will be on Saturday 26th November 2005 and will be based at the Slieve Donard Hotel (Newcastle) and will consist of 6 gravel stages (30+ stage miles) in the Newcastle, Rostrevor and Kilkeel region with a centralized service park in Newcastle.

It is hoped that the event will attract entries from the country's top rally drivers as it is being observed for inclusion in to the Northern Ireland Rally Championship for 2006.The Newcastle and East Down region has a proud rallying history as the town played host to the Circuit of Ireland Rally in the mid '70s and early '90s. The Down Rally will re-ignite this motorsport tradition and will provide a new treat for many local rally fans.

Regs and entry forms are available on the competitors page.

For further information please contact:

Rally Office:
Tel. +44 (0) 7753 846 734 (Between 9am & 9pm ONLY!)
Tel. +44 (0) 7876 562 003 (Between 9am & 9pm ONLY!)
Fax. +44 (0) 28 4065 0379 (Between 9am & 5pm ONLY!)
E-mail: downrally@rathfrilandmotorclub.com

Media Office:
Tel. +44 (0) 7718 760 273
Fax. +44 (0) 28 7962 7952 (Ring First to switch fax on)
Email. press@rathfrilandmotorclub.com
[/font][font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]
[/font]

Graham

Graham
Press Cars
[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Tuesday 8th November 2005
For Immediate Release
[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]McGRADY INSURANCE DOWN RALLY '05.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]IMPORTANT AMENDMENTS TO EVENT SCHEDULE.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]RATHFRILAND MOTOR HAS JUST RELEASED UPDATED DETAILS OF THE FORTHCOMING McGRADY INSURANCE DOWN RALLY 2005. [/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]DUE TO FOREST SERVICE LOGGING SCHEDULES IN SOME OF THE FORESTS, THE EVENT RECCE HAS BEEN CHANGED FROM SATURDAY 12TH NOVEMBER TO FRIDAY 25TH NOVEMBER. THIS WILL MEAN THAT WHEN THE COMPETITORS PASS THROUGH THE STAGES ON FRIDAY, THEY WILL BE SET UP READY FOR USE WITH ALL STAGE FURNITURE IN PLACE. [/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]WITH THIS IN MIND, THE EARLY CLOSING DATE FOR ENTRIES FOR THE EVENT HAS BEEN EXTENDED 16TH NOVEMBER AND ENTRIES WILL CLOSE FINALLY ON 23RD NOVEMBER.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]THE EVENT ITSELF WILL BE ON SATURDAY 26TH NOVEMBER AND WILL BE BASED AT THE SLIEVE DONARD HOTEL AND WILL CONSIST OF 6 GRAVEL STAGES IN THE NEWCASTLE, ROSTREVOR AND KILKEEL REGION WITH A CENTRALISED SERVICE PARK IN NEWCASTLE.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]IT IS HOPED THAT THE EVENT WILL ATTRACT ENTRIES FROM THE COUNTRY'S TOP RALLY DRIVERS AS IT IS BEING OBSERVED FOR INCLUSION IN THE NORTHERN IRELAND RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP IN 2006.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]THE NEWCASTLE AND EAST DOWN REGION HAS A PROUD RALLYING HISTORY AS THE TOWN PLAYED HOST TO THE CIRCUIT OF IRELAND RALLY IN THE MID 70'S AND EARLY 90'S. THE DOWN RALLY WILL REIGNITE THIS MOTORSPORT TRADITION AND WILL PROVIDE A NEW TREAT FOR THE MANY LOCAL RALLY FANS. [/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]FURTHER INFORMATION CAN BE REQUESTED BY E-MAILING downrally@rathfrilandmotorclub.com[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]ENDS[/font]

Graham

Graham
Press Cars
well folks not long now, heres the entry thats still not closed and also soem blanks but by feck what an entry - for more - www.rathfrilandmotorclub.com

Entrys are still open:

1 Sean Devine tba Strabane Impreza WRC 8

2 Craig Bennett Rodger Bennett Clogher Ford Focus WRC 8

3 Neil McCance Martin O'Neill Comber Lancer EVO 8.5 2

4 Raymond Mason Peter Martin Moneyreagh Lancer Evo 6 2

5 Donagh Kelly Kevin Flanagan Dunleer Lancer Evo 6 8

6 John McGaffin Mo Downey Gilford Impreza 99WRC 8

7 Richard Cathcart Marshal Clark Lancer EVO 7 2

9 Andy Magee tba Glenarm Ford Escort mk2 7

10 Mark Barnett Jonathan Charlsesson Strabane Ford Escort mk2 7

11 Camillus Bradley Danny O'Neill Draperstown Ford Escort Mk2 7

12 Seamus O'Connell Sean Maggee Dungiven Ford Escort mk2 BDX 6

14 Gerard McFall Brendan Boyle Bushmills Escort Cosworth 8

15 Eamon Mimnagh John Johnston Omagh Lancer Evo 2

16 Adrian Hetherington tba Dungannon Ford Escort mk2 7

17 Raymond Donnelly tba Omagh Ford Escort mk2 6

18 Noel Driver Joseph Shinnors (Snr) Bray Ford Escort mk2 7

19 Phil Cherry Terry Wilson Crossgar Lancer EVO 8

20 Stanley Ballantine tba Strabane Lancer Evo 6 2

21 Liam McFall Oonagh McFerran Bushmills Escort Cosworth 8

22 Micky McGillin Sean Hayde Omagh Ford Escort mk2 7

23 Alistair Graham Sean McCormack Dundonald Lancer Evo 3 8

24 Seamus Devine Cathal Lagan Park Village Lancer EVO 8.5 2

25 Roy Haslett Gavin Larmour Ballygowan Opel Kadett 6

26 Mark Hamilton tba Cookstown Impreza 2

27 John Walker Dessie Wilson Hillsborough Impreza STI 2

28 Gary Rodgers Brian Crawford Drumaness Lancer EVO 6 2

29 Trevor Ferguson tba Coagh Impreza 2

30 Martin Cairns tba Strabane Impreza N10 2

31 Paul Brittan tba Impreza WRX 2

32 Joe McQuillan tba Lancer EVO 6

33 Ryan Barrett Dermot Colgan Omagh Ford Escort mk2 6

34 Adrian Donnelly Donal Lennon Omagh Escort G3 6

35 Shane Cullen Alan Donelly Moy Ford Escort mk2 6

36 Rory Byrne Niall Byrne Newry Lancer Evo 7 2

37 Aidan Toner Damian Toner Magherafelt Ford Escort mk2 6

38 Shaun Reid Damian McAuley Cloughmills Lancer Evo 5 2

39 Shane McGeary Declan Campbell Dungannon Lancer Evo 2

40 Darrel Quinn Daniel Woods Dungannon Ford Escort mk2 6

41 Sean Warnock Noel Mulholland Ballykinlar Ford Escort mk2 6

42 Christian Cochrane Paul Cunningham Downpatrick Ford Escort mk2 7

43 Denis Heaney Martin Brady Garvagh Corolla WRC 8

45 Fearghal McDonald Daniel Monaghan Omagh Ford Escort mk2 6

46 Conor Lee Rory Fagan Castleknock Ford Escort mk2 6

47 Ian Duff Kenneth Hull Coagh Proton Satria 5

48 Peter Thompson William Donnell Omagh Peugeot 106 S16 5

49 Cathal Taggart Jonathan Baird Omagh Ford Escort mk2 6

50 Clive Latimar Raymond Moore Lurgan Citroen Saxo 5

51 Fergal Kelly Kenny Bustard Donegal VW Golf TDI 8

52 Dermot O'Hagan Ian Hull Omagh Peugeot 106 S16 5

53 Andrew Trotter Ciaran McAnespy Enniskillen Ford Escort mk2 6

55 David Kerr tba Omagh Peugeot 205 4

56 Matt Mitchell Raymond Doyle Magherafelt Ford Escort mk2 5

57 Marcel Heaney Jonathan MacDonald Downpatrick Ford Escort mk1 6

58 Edgar Cumins Andrew Maze Hillsborough Sierra XR4x4 2

59 David Crossen tba Comber Hillman Avenger 4

60 Ashley Donald Ryan McCloskey Omagh Ford Escort mk2 4

61 James Coulter tba Hillsborough Ford Escort mk2 5

62 Andrew Straney Mark Carson Ballynahinch Vauxhall Nova 3

63 Shaun Carr Adrian Wasson Ramelton Toyota Corolla 5

64 Joseph Shinnors Trevor Payne Kilmallock Vauxhall Nova 4

66 Ian Green Amanda Green Ballynahinch Peugeot 205 1

67 Michael Faloon David Sinnamon Donaghmore Ford Escort mk2 3

68 Chris Heaney Raymond McCullagh Lurgan Honda Civic 1

69 Jonathan Greer tba Carryduff VW Polo 1

70 Mark McCrea Barry McCarte Antrim Talbot Sunbeam 4

71 Eamon McLaughlin Shane McLaughlin Eglinton Peugeot 205 4

72 Brian Hanna Paul Forsythe Annalong Peugeot 205 3

73 Paul Killen David Walsh Drumaness Talbot Sunbeam 4

74 Derek Crossen tba Comber Ford KA 2

Graham

Graham
Press Cars
PMSL, i'm sure he will have the tail end into a hedge at some point but he managed to finish a quarry sprint in her without incident so fair play to him and it's nice to see him back in RWD as thats how i remember him in bangor at the start of the circuit years ago !

Graham

Graham
Press Cars
" believe the 1st stage starts near bloody bridge, running down into Donard Park starting at 9.30, not sure of the times for the Rostrevor and Kilkeel stages, the last section of donard has some great viewing. The Rostrevor stage uses some of the new'Kilbroney' stage and extra " txt from DavidN on the www.ral.ly forum so cheers to him

Graham

Graham
Press Cars
It has been said that the 3rd stage (private land) will be in Mourne Park which is just outside kilkeel - courtesy of paulYDP who's doing it afaik so he'l be along as it's his home event to help us

RComms

E63
yup 3rd stage is definately in Mourne Park. first section is interesting to say the least....

PaulYDP

R1 Turbo
Yeah it is my home event as Graham says.

I will be able to give more stage information on friday evening after I do the recee for the event but I can give you a little at the minute.

SS1 & SS4 Donard Park
SS2 & SS5 Kilbroney Park
SS3 & SS6 Mourne Park

Servicing is after stages 1 and 4 (Both Donard Park stages).

I have been told that the stages are very fast in some places so it should be interesting!

Graham

Graham
Press Cars
mark on yer stage map any points of intereste dto a wee man with a camera like jumps and real hairy corners ;) then i['ll give you a shout on fridaynight lol

RComms

E63
Graham the first section of the mourne stage is basically over a field before they hit the gravel! Very mucky and bumpy. definately could be worth a few pics ;). Donard stage is fast and the Rostrevor one uses the kilbroney single stage.

never got speakin to you on sat Paul, how did yous get on in the end up? you seemed to be unlucky to not get the runs through Gullion thanks to one thing and another.

PaulYDP

R1 Turbo
Graham I will try and see what I can pick out for you on friday and talk to you on friday nite!

We got on ok Andy - didn't even realise you were doing stage finish on big gullion until SS6 I think it was! That was our first time back out since our little off in the easter stages so we just took things steady and went for the finish as we didn't want too much to do before this weekend!! We're really down on power tho so I think before next year big changes will be made (car wise)!

We basically missed 2 runs over gullion which was unfortunate as its a really good stage - there was a few hairy offs in it tho which is never good.

PaulYDP

R1 Turbo
It depends what stages you want to watch lad, you just make your way to the stage and find a good place to stand that is safe! - The first stage of the day is above Donard Park in Newcastle, with the finish being close to the actual service area in Donard Park. If your coming from Belfast Donard Park is at the far side of Newcastle - go the full length of the one way street and where it splits into 2 at the bottom go in the left hand lane and take ur first right (its about 50 yards from the lights).

Your best bet is possibly to go to Rally HQ in the Slieve Donard Hotel which is at the Belfast end of Newcastle and from there you will get a Programme which should show you what the stages look like and where they are.

Oh and I very much doubt there will be a fee - just arrive and watch then leave.

Graham

Graham
Press Cars
what you mean meets up? thats where it starts i think so all the cars and drivers will start from there as well as spectators as thats ehere programs are sold from then out to SS! it is :laughing:

bear in mind the kilkeel stage would be a good 30odd minute drive from te rest of them mate

PaulYDP

R1 Turbo
Kilkeel Stage is about 15mins from the Kilbroney stage, its around 10 mile, maybe a bit less.

PaulYDP

R1 Turbo
First car due on first stage at 9.30 and there is a service straight after it, which is also beside the stage finish.

Go to Slieve Donard hotel for maps etc.

Over the stages today and they're a bit hairy in places! Alot of snow on them today but hopefully calmed by tomorrow! Running near the back anyway (72) so that'll help us!

Graham as for good pics i'm not so sure as access to parts of the stage is very limited. For Mourne Wood stage access is available around Junction2 - its a hairpin left into 6 left. Or if u access it there and walk to ur left (direction cars are coming from) you will have a good view of stage - long straight section past logs and chicane in middle.

Donard Park stage access available at YMCA which is end of stage - walk in a bit and there is a 2 left which is also a jump over juction - good for pics i'd reckon.

ewok

i'll be there somewhere i'll try to get the golf on the course after the main drivers it should be a bit of crack