EV New owner basics

Big Pimp

RMS Trader
Drives
like im late
So I've done a bit of reading in the rest of this thread, picked up a few hints and tips, but thought it might be a good reference to have the a sticky highlighting the basics for people new to EV ownership in one handy place.

As the title may elude, I am new to EV ownership with next to zero knowledge on them. I intend on updating this as we go along and get advice in this thread.

Starting off with the basics. What are the must haves, the could haves and the should haves?
Home wall charger @ 7kW is a must i'd assume
what is the situation with public charging, and what app do i need to make it work? I see that ESB own most of them but a couple of others have charging points too. do i need to download an app for these too? All of these are now chargeable I'm guessing as I dont see the same cars hogging spaces how they used to.

Anything else i'm missing out on?

Thanks in advance

Rocko

RMS Regular
Drives
Pure Soul
You definitely want a home charger. Ideally a smart one so you can take advantage of EV tariffs if you so wish. Otherwise, the newer EVs usually allow scheduled charging.

ESB Cars app. Make sure you're on the Irish one, not GB.
It's here: ecar connect - Apps on Google Play

Just go PAYG, it'll auto top up.

ABRP - Route planner showing chargers along the way, if you need to do a huge journey.
Plugshare/Zap Map shows available chargers in your area.

Then there's apps for the other charging networks, BP Pulse, Weev, Ionity, EasyGo but when you pull up at a public charger it's all laid out for you. As you said, with ESB now charging you'll very rarely see both chargers occupied.

Don't get caught with overstay charges. The BP ones are a tenner for 90 minutes, 20 quid for 150+ minutes. And they're already a fortune.

dufunk

RMS Regular
Anyone know if 80 amps is enough for a electric charger at home? How much you talking per unit on those chargers about towns now?

Rocko

RMS Regular
Drives