The Rashmens 1986 Ninja Powered Suzuki Super Carry Kei Truck

R36_

R36 Passat
Hello!

This won’t really be a “build thread” as such because it was totally transformed inside 60ish hours or so just for Dubshed.

Originally we didn’t think we were going to do Dubshed due to work commitments etc. This all changed on Tuesday once work commitments changed, so we decided to do something mad and try build a Dubshed worthy car with 3 days until the actual event.

IMG_0573.jpeg

This was taken at 8pm on Tuesday evening. 2 of my fellow Rashmen purchased this wee bus for a steal of a price a good number of months back. The only thing we’d changed in those months were the wheels, some kind of JR’s, don’t know the exact model.

For the eagle eyed of you, you may notice that the engine isn’t exactly standard. It’s powered by a 600cc motorbike engine from a Kawasaki Ninja. An absolute thrill to drive as you’d imagine 😄

Fast forward a few months. Dubshed entries opened. Unbeknownst to the rest of the Rashmen, I entered the Super Carry for a laugh, knowing that if we got an indoor/outdoor spot, we’d have plenty of time to get her into a presentable state!

Long story short, I got an email back a month later that we’d got an indoor spot. I sent the email into our WhatsApp group, the lads checked their diary’s and it turned out that a few of us were actually working/busy over Dubshed weekend. So we shelved that idea, cut our losses and thought no more about it, until the actual week of Dubshed 😅

On Tuesday, one of the Rashmen sent a message into our WhatsApp group saying that the date for the job he was meant to be on got pushed back and that he was actually free for the weekend OF Dubshed. So we set ourselves a hefty challenge to transform the mighty wee micro bus into a Dubshed worthy vessel.

IMG_0578.jpeg

8:30pm Friday evening. One of the last cars to arrive into Dubshed on the Friday night. Apologies to Nigel & team for being later than we’d anticipated - reasoning being, we were still working on the Carry at 6:30pm at Rashmen HQ 😂

IMG_0577.jpeg
IMG_0575.jpeg

IMG_0576.jpeg

We filmed as much of the build process as we could and will hopefully have the video posted to our socials either tomorrow or Tuesday evening. Will link it here once it’s up.

We all worked our asses off to try and pull this thing together but the star of the show was TW. Big Tommy worked his fingers to the bone, putting over 30+ hours of work into this thing inside such a short space of time, total machine of a man.

We had a brilliant weekend at Dubshed, now it’s time for a cold beer and a lay down

KevM

The Super-Carry turned out well. It's bound to be hilarious to drive!

I pointed you lot out to my 7 year old earlier, but he's an IS200 fanboi & got a bit wound up over one of your first videos. I had to escort him away from you's in case he made a scene 🤣🤣👍🏻

StephenMcC

VW CC
Absolutely loved this, I've been trying to convince the missus a kei truck is a great idea lol

Nicky

HiluxSurf
Absolutely loved this, I've been trying to convince the missus a kei truck is a great idea lol
Sounds like you need a Kei truck, and a new missus. Mine happily offered to drive me well over to hour away 1 night to buy a wee Hijet that I spotted on Gumtree, and even washed it for me the next day while I was at work… 😂

BLS

bmw
Sounds like you need a Kei truck, and a new missus. Mine happily offered to drive me well over to hour away 1 night to buy a wee Hijet that I spotted on Gumtree, and even washed it for me the next day while I was at work… 😂
Shes a keeper!

McFall1984

To many cars
I was in Tokyo last month an said to her multiple times about how tiny an cool they are
She agreed a few times an then started pointing out tiny an funky they are. Watch this space while I continue working on her 😂

This thing is cool, an to be built over several days is class
Well done men

Rigger

XJR 575, A4
Recognised it straight away, had a laugh to myself remembering yous nearly tipping it over in yer YT vid. Looks really good.
1000044549.jpg

Big Pimp

RMS Trader
like im late
a truly class wee machine.

How do you get into it? Seen in a few pics there is no handles on it. Were you intending on flushing them old school style and have aTVR style door popper?

R36_

R36_
R36 Passat
a truly class wee machine.

How do you get into it? Seen in a few pics there is no handles on it. Were you intending on flushing them old school style and have aTVR style door popper?
We had a door handle ordered for the driver side but it didn’t come in time for dubshed ☹️ can open the door from the inside and the passenger side has a door handle so it’s all good. You never know, there might just be lambo doors on it next year 😆🤣

Darragh

Supra TT6
I did say keep up the random abuse and you didn’t disappoint lol fast turn around for the pickup and the craic you boys have is great, keep up the good work

Reece Kirk

RMS Member
M240i Auto
I've said it once and I'll say it again.. thon yoke is the absolute rawd sir :heart_eyes: Great video as always (y)

R36_

R36_
R36 Passat
I did say keep up the random abuse and you didn’t disappoint lol fast turn around for the pickup and the craic you boys have is great, keep up the good work
Haha cheers Darragh! It seems to be what we’re good at 🤣🤣
I've said it once and I'll say it again.. thon yoke is the absolute rawd sir :heart_eyes: Great video as always (y)
🤣🤣🤣 “She’s some bus!” Fingers crossed we’ll be slightly more organised for Dubshed next year, the wee rawd done us proud 🙏