Sierra Sapphire 2.9 24v V6 Cosworths

Antoin

E60 535d
That’s nothing @Ruairi83
Last week a digger I had on hire slid into a river when the bank fell away. Turns out I wasn’t insured & the hire company didn’t want to put it through theirs either as they didn’t want it back regardless. Had to buy it off them for £90k, the exact figure in my savings account.

View attachment 385866

Then had to get a team of men who specialise in digger recovery to slipe it out.. that was £5k so that’s why I was taking bad money for the Sierra to pay them.

View attachment 385865

To be fair they were unreal, military operation, I spent 5hrs in the water in my diving gear taking out the half shafts & putting chains on to allow it to roll out better.

It looks worse than what it is. No water near the engine (runs fine) just damp electrics which is being addressed tomorrow.

Similar thing happened the father in law and his business partner. Tipped telehandler and had to buy it cos it had a bent boom.

Ruairi83

MK7.5 GTi PP
That’s nothing @Ruairi83
Last week a digger I had on hire slid into a river when the bank fell away. Turns out I wasn’t insured & the hire company didn’t want to put it through theirs either as they didn’t want it back regardless. Had to buy it off them for £90k, the exact figure in my savings account.

View attachment 385866

Then had to get a team of men who specialise in digger recovery to slipe it out.. that was £5k so that’s why I was taking bad money for the Sierra to pay them.

View attachment 385865

To be fair they were unreal, military operation, I spent 5hrs in the water in my diving gear taking out the half shafts & putting chains on to allow it to roll out better.

It looks worse than what it is. No water near the engine (runs fine) just damp electrics which is being addressed tomorrow.
Jesus sorry to hear that. How come you’re not insured tho if you hired it from hire company?

This confirmed you defo need to write all these out and publish it!

BarryPort

BarryPort
Sierra Cosworth
Jesus sorry to hear that. How come you’re not insured tho if you hired it from hire company?

This confirmed you defo need to write all these out and publish it!

You require hired-in plant insurance even as the customer.

I was semi aware of this & attempted to add it to my policy 2 days before the incident (attached).

AAD536C7-B3E1-4F52-9D7E-71982E58D52E.jpeg

But I knew the risk I was taking. I was fully aware as the cab filled with water I was now the owner of a 13T Komatsu 🙃

Good news, got her running today - just needs a new display/dash.

Had to wait a week for the technician pictured but it was worth it for a healthy result.

5498979F-1784-4D26-9001-92A3E3B3741C.jpeg

Back to topic - replacement gearbox in the Sierra & it’s being sent to Scotland next week.

Ruairi83

MK7.5 GTi PP

I was semi aware of this & attempted to add it to my policy 2 days before the incident (attached).

View attachment 385942

But I knew the risk I was taking. I was fully aware as the cab filled with water I was now the owner of a 13T Komatsu 🙃

Had to wait a week for the technician pictured but it was worth it for a healthy result.

View attachment 385943

Back to topic - replacement gearbox in the Sierra & it’s being sent to Scotland next week.
Glad to hear some good news for you. Hopefully you can flog the digger and Sierra and claw back the majority of savings bud.

Woodcutter

View attachment 385942

View attachment 385943

I’d love a go with it! 😄

gav525

Holy hell Barry, that's some handling you've had!

Fair play getting the Sierra fixed so quickly and glad the lads still want her.
Madness that digger story though! We(her Dad) put the wee farm handler in the Lough a few months back, engine got half submerged as did the the cab electrics. All dried out and runs fine again, fingers crossed yours works out the same

DJMCA

I think the majority of normal adult men want an afternoon in a digger. I’d love it. Moving a pile of gravel from one end of a field to the other with a digger and a dumper.

Once would probably do. Lol. Next bloke can move the gravel back to where it was the next day lol
The novelty wears off, trust me. I used to do it as a job and it looses its appeal. There actually used to be a place in Larne that you could do it for fun apparently!

Not sure Boydie, I’m not expecting my money back or near it but a mate in the trade reckons it would do well at an auction in America due to it being eligible for their emissions. See what happens.
It would stand you near the 100k mark if you exported it to America, plus auction fees. Would be a very expensive 2nd hand digger for someone

Eager

broooooom
Any chance or scope of hiring it out to people to pay for its self or at least back to the point you could break even before selling.

Antoin

E60 535d
Why pay £90k for it if it’s not worth that? Fair market value is it’s worth.

I quickly looked that model up on one of the plant sales traders and they range from £20k to £95k so depending on age/ hours etc it may well be close to being worth that.

BarryPort

BarryPort
Sierra Cosworth
I quickly looked that model up on one of the plant sales traders and they range from £20k to £95k so depending on age/ hours etc it may well be close to being worth that.

It’s a year old with 750hrs. I’ve a report from Komatsu Belfast issued last week. Still 2 years warranty.

Gentlemen, @davyk31, this was only supposed to be a bit of craic who cares what it’s worth no one was killed.

davyk31

@BarryPort don’t worry I wasn’t taking it too serious. From your chat you seemed to say you wouldn’t get your money out of it but if it’s worth what you paid for it then it’s no drama for you so long as you can fund it short term.

Lesson learned on instructing insurance however for sure.

Rigger

XJR 575, A4
Ps who has 90k in their savings 😲 👏
Ex Sat-Divers apparently. Well paid, but they earn their pennies to be fair.

@BarryPort, fair play for taking both sh1tshows on the chin and getting on with it. You must have been thinking "Why me?"🤷‍♂️

Hopefully the Komastsu will give you a decent return or minimal loss if you sell it on.

BLS

bmw
How much did the Sierra go for @BarryPort. Nice looking Sierra can't believe no one bought it here. Would have bought it myself if had the money.