can anyone tell me..

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

isk85

RMS Member
what is wrong with my car?..my eml light is on AND... (i`ll cut the long story short ), i fitted a janspeed manifold + sports cat a few month ago which involved cutting and extending the upstream lamba sensor .everything went well( for a while anyway) then the car started to lose power, it wouldnt rev past 2k-3k. the car just chokes everytime i put my foot down.
the mechanic thought it might have been the extended lamba sensor so we replaced it. the problem remains.
had it diagnose a few times but no one seems to be able to find the answer.
does anyone know what this problem is? or even better direct me to a mechanic?

thanks

ps. forgot to mention i have my lamba sensor unplugged atm this seems to stop the problem from occuring, but when its back on the above issue kicks in.

this car is a 2002 mg zr 1.4

isk85

RMS Member
OP
I
yea i was told but thats the only way i can get the car moving... :confounded:

can u tell me the adverse affect of running without lambda?

ZS

Banned
Drives
Astra 2.0DTi SXi
It'll coke up the engine, an probably kill the cat. Lambda is there to make sure the engine isn't running too rich which overheats the cat, leading to it's untimely death.

Lyons

RMS Moderator
Drives
X5 / 435D
surely doing the reverse of what you did, ie remove the janspeed etc would be a start?

isk85

RMS Member
OP
I
i have already removed the janspeed cat and manifold but the problem still persist. i was hopin the eml will go off but it didnt...

thanks for the replys!!

rsnutter

R
isk85 said:
involved cutting and extending the upstream lamba sensor.

First thing i would check is your wiring then, its the most likly cause.

PrimO

RMS Regular