Engine failure, advice needed

paddy1001

RMS Regular
Hi All,

I am looking a bit of advice on a recent purchase. We bought a new to us car (2016 car with 77000 miles on it, high end car and expensive) at the start of November, in the just over 5 weeks of ownership we have put less than 1000 miles on it. Last night the engine suddenly developed a really bad knock, I have some mechanical knowledge and believe it has spun a bearing on the crankshaft and the noise is the piston contacting the head. There were no warning signs, no engine management lights and gauges remained steady. There are still no fault codes. Researching today has led me to believe this is a relatively common fault on these engines where the bottom end fails.
The car was sold with a 6 month premium aftermarket warranty that covers quite an extensive list of things, but with a £5k claim limit.
A second hand replacement engine is £8k from a couple of different breakers and they say they are very hard to find.

I obviously will be contacting the warranty company on Monday morning but am holding out very little hope of success with it, I don’t believe they will pay for a replacement engine, instead only change the failed parts, I.e. the bearings and possibly the crank, not the piston that battered the head nor flush the metal filings all out of the system.

I understand I have held out on a lot of details that may be important but at the minute I am trying to figure out my options without upsetting too many people.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? What are my options and what should I do? I have a feeling (though it’s just my feeling) that the dealer may try to push it all through the third party warranty who will deny the claim and I will be left with a £10k repair bill.

All advice and guidance is appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation,
Paddy

redxl77

RMS Regular