Getting a car transported from across the water

Pac-Man

Banned
I bought a motor a while ago and was wondering if there was anyone here or someone they knew who had a car and trailer that they would be willing to take over and collect it for me.

I'll pay all the boat/fuel costs, etc as well as a few quid for doing it. Car cannot be driven as theres a problem with the brake master cylinder and just isn't worth the risk given the distance it needs driven.

Car is in the Birmingham area and i really just wanted to see if i could get it brought over cheaper than a transport company could do it.

seanbob

Mk2 Escort & M3
Can't help you out Pac but maybe you could point me in a similar direction, same scenario car is in East London, need someone to take the cash over with them and pay on collection type of thing...

Bryan

How much is a 'few quid' for doing it? I have access to a trailer. What sort of cars are we talking about picking up?

Pac-Man

Banned
P
I gave Fast Cav a fair price for bringing my Mi16 205 over, but it was way over in East Anglia, not many transport companines would even consider the job so had to get someone to do it.

Its a days work, so a decent days money would be paid ;)

@ Seanbob, you will have to get someone to bring it over for you that you know, as NO normal vehicle transport coimpany will take money and hand it over for a car. I asked this before with all the ones i contacted.

Bryan

The only thing is that If I did go over to get it for you, it probably wouldn't be insured when it's on the trailer on the way back so it would be at your own risk. In saying that, I've never had any problems of that nature before.

If it's a pretty heavy car... size of a Sierra/Volvo etc I probably couldn't do it. But if it's a small-ish car there shouldn't be a problem.

Pac-Man

Banned
P
I'm not worried about it being at my own risk, as long as you know how to use a trailer and that it can be strapped down correctly i think i can trust you. :?

PM-ed anyway.

seanbob

Mk2 Escort & M3
That seems to be the case now Pac, how things have changed since I brought over the Mk2 nearly 4-1/2 years ago now.

Bryan the car would deffo not be small-ish, but i'm working on the problem, hopefully have it resolved soon enough!!

Cormac

Soz slightly off topic

In another topic i talkied about having to go lift my uncles Nisan patrol jeep with my d-turbo 306, well he's went and bought himself a shogun jeep so they'll now be no trouble towing, he was saying he phoned up P&O and they could do a special offer one day return, driver-jeep-trailor for 140 quid, thought this was quite good!

Cormac

Cess

RMS Staff
I thought yer man Eamon McLaughlin from Englinton direction brought cars out of England? :confounded:

Fast_CAV

548hp sr20
I take cars from england But have no tow bar...if I did...would go colect that car 4 ya pac man...

Skillie

what kinda car's it outa curiosity. Would you consider having it repaired over there and drive it back (or get someone else to drive it). It would save a bit on cost and hassle and the repair has to be done anyway once you get it home

Jason

theres a fella in ballymoney does this day in day out... barklet/bartlet or somethin his name is... bount 2 be in the phone book

veedubboy

Veedubboy Recoveries available for hire

032.jpg

seanbob

Mk2 Escort & M3
@ Karlos, No probs lad, might need a lift from the Airport [Nudge, Nudge] :p

@ Pod & Merlin, Firenza sounds right, been a while since seeing one of those babies...

Karlos Da Jackle

PUG 306+GSI CARL
Well i'd say prob stanstead is where u'd be flying into,, if u did,, it shouldn't be a prob,, would be more than happy 2 help!!!! Its just 30 mins away,, Just let me know when!!!! 8)

But i wouldn't be keen on luton/gatwick,, there fecking miles away,, like a 2hr drive..