Head Gasget

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

metro1800

RMS Regular
Drives
405 Mi16
Not overly expensive. Use a good quality gasket (preferably on OE one). You'd also be better getting the head checked for flatness and skimmed if needed, and pressure tested.

metro1800

RMS Regular
Drives
405 Mi16
To skim and test the head would be £60. Head gasket set, anything from £30 to £80. Then theres labour after that. I'm not a mechanic, but I'd say budget for £150-200

RMS_CLK

RMS Regular
Thats about right perhaps a bit less. Ive done a couple of these, they're not too bad at all. If your lookin it fixed PM me and ill see what I can do. How u know the headgaskets gone???

icemanclio

RMS Regular
OP
icemanclio
Drives
Impreza
well its losing a lot of water from the header tank and well thats about it, i would be looking it done

RMS_CLK

RMS Regular
Could just be a leak. You sure it isnt leaking??? Check your oil on the dip-stick - what colour is it? If its creamy coloured then its most likely a head gasket, or have you noticed the exhaust fumes very steamy.

icemanclio

RMS Regular
OP
icemanclio
Drives
Impreza
ni i haven't noticed any of that, its just i went to ats today to get my wheel alligment gone and when he put it on the ramp, we noicted a lot of water on the work floor, we looked and it was dripping from the car

RMS_CLK

RMS Regular
Well thats gonna be a leak then mate most likely. If you want me to take a look at it for ya pm me.

RMS_CLK

RMS Regular
Could be anything, burst hose, cracked header, cracked rad. What it sounds like is a leak. Where its coming from cant be diagnosed with the information that has been given.

Kerzo

RMS Regular
Drives
Leon FR
true true........but sure lets just say I am right just for the hell of it :party:

ZS

Banned
Drives
Astra 2.0DTi SXi
If it's a diesel Clio, then it'll be the radiator core rotten along the bottom.