Looking a first bike on a car license

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

Hugh Fraser

RMS Member
Hi all,
Newbie here, been on a bike once on the road, but had a bike for the fields when I was younger as am forty now moving to a bike now as am unemployed and need transport, I have Renault Clio at the mo but the insurance runs out on the 6th October 2017, as they were looking £99 for a 1.2! I just couldn’t afford that on £300/m!

Dusty

RMS Regular
Drives
Honda CR-V
you can ride up to a 125 but you'll have to pass your cbt first. Personally, I'd go for a scooter if I were you. Easier to ride, cheaper to run, cheaper to insure.

Still need to do your cbt though.

G N K

RMS Regular
Drives
Anything
By the time you buy a bike, insure it and get safety gear along with doing a cbt surely you'd be as well to insure and MOT the car?

You'll be warmer over winter too.

Hugh Fraser

RMS Member
OP
Hugh Fraser
you can ride up to a 125 but you'll have to pass your cbt first. Personally, I'd go for a scooter if I were you. Easier to ride, cheaper to run, cheaper to insure.

Still need to do your cbt though.
Thanks for that, Think I’ll have to do my CBT then, as I don’t like scooters, i don’t mind dealing with the gears, clutch etc, I prefer road bikes style wise.

Hugh Fraser

RMS Member
OP
Hugh Fraser
By the time you buy a bike, insure it and get safety gear along with doing a cbt surely you'd be as well to insure and MOT the car?

You'll be warmer over winter too.
It’s a 2001 Clio, so it could cost a penny or two to fix and I think I’d rather just get a bike, I think it could be cheaper in the long run.

genman

G
CBT is mandatory to be on the road...scooter or bike.
Insurance can be done by instalments these days... likely a deposit then £10pm or spread over 3 months etc for the Clio.