Sensible Civic was in the plan.... FK8 was the reality

Jethro

I'm not really sure where to start with this, but I'll try to briefly summarise.
Since selling my Porsche 911 Turbo and MK2 Escort to clear my mortgage I basically fell out of love with having a "nice" car and drove a Honda Civic 2.2 Type S. The Type S was meant as a gap car but it has been my little work horse from 2016 and just wants to keep going.:grinning:

I had a plan in my head from last summer to buy a Tesla Model 3 Performance, the idea of 0-60 in 3 seconds just blew my mind, along with free charging at work the plan seemed perfectly workable.
My thinking was to buy it around March time and that plan lasted until 4 weeks ago when I was checking the prices of 1.6 idtec Civics for my wife and a 2018 Civic 1.6 idtec popped up.
Suddenly the wise head figured out that I could lose literally thousands in depreciation. on a Teslla. I thought about it for a day or 2 and then decided to sell my Type S and buy the sensible Civic at £8k and drive away merrily at it. I still had not fallen back in love with nice cars yet remember !
Anyway, I got the cash out and was ready to book a flight and ferry until an HPI check showed it as a category N write off, the owner did not inform me of this so the deal turned sour.

For the last few months some news has seriously played on my mind,. A work colleague of mine that started the same time as me was diagnosed with terminal cancer. Many a great evening we had on the lash after work and I found it difficult to get the news out of my head.
So after readng through many members cars threads and I will admit the @CharlySkunkWeed GTR thread got me thinking . Why am I trying to save money and for who ? Just enjoy it and have something nice to look at in the drive or something nice again to put a smile on my face when I open up the garage.
I realised then that I was back in love with the idea of a nice car so the search for a Type R Civic was stepped up a gear.
I had looked at FK2 Civics about a year ago and they never really left my head, even though my head was infected with Tesla thoughts and other silly things.
So a few weeks back I narrowed my search down to a few different Type R Civics . I was determined to buy privately as any dealer was just reading off exactly what information I could see on screen in front of me and trying to push finance and plans and all the other dung.
I made that many phone calls to different owners that I was confusing myself and them with questions , getting names , locations, mileage etc mixed up .
I knew I had a budget and now FK8 Civics were within my range so it was narrowed down to a red one or a blue one, both were the same age and pretty similar miles, after more calls and haggling...... the blue one was the winner.:grinning:
I headed over on Tuesday to collect it and was back home again by 7.30 Tueday night and very happy owner.
There's a lot to learn with different suspension settings etc
New plan is have fun and enjoy the Type R and keep the old Type S for work commutes and general duties.

Brief spec..
2018 FK8 Type R Civic Turbo
44,000 miles with FHSH
20" rims with new 255/35 Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres
Mishimoto air intake system
Alcantara lower centre console retrim
Alcantara instrumrnt panel retrim
Brembo calipers replaced under warranty (laquer peel)
A/C condensor replaced under warranty (fins corroded)

For the first time in many years the whole of Saturday was spent cleaning ,claying, polishing and waxing.
Over the years I have always waited until I gave my new cars their first deep clean before I knew exactly what I had bought. We've all bought cars that have something untoward about them, be it a strange noise, sprayed panel, a run in the paint , dents/scuffs or hidden damage, but I can honestly say that I have never had a car that is so perfect in my opinion.

Few pics from a spin out today

IMG_20240211_165944.jpg

IMG_20240211_170036.jpg

IMG_20240211_165337.jpg

IMG_20240211_165453.jpg

IMG_20240211_165934 (1).jpg
IMG_20240211_170243.jpg

CharlySkunkWeed

Glad I inspired you to get this and not a Tesla 😅. In all seriousness, spend your money while you can enjoy it. You can always sell the car if the **** hits the fan.

I was looking at these aswell, the only thing stopping me was I had the Subaru and it was all the lairy I needed. Really like the look of them.

Jethro

Jethro
Glad I inspired you to get this and not a Tesla 😅. In all seriousness, spend your money while you can enjoy it. You can always sell the car if the **** hits the fan.

I was looking at these aswell, the only thing stopping me was I had the Subaru and it was all the lairy I needed. Really like the look of them.
Yep, I've had the lairy Subaru's too and before I bought the 911 turbo I had looked at R35s. Genuinely loving this again, thanks for the push 🤣

Gaz

This space available for rent
M4 Comp Pack
These are awesome, we've talked a bit recently about them on the RMS podcast as I've had a slight hankering for a hatch of some kind. They consistently score either highly (or usually hit the top) in any comparative tests against competitors in all the car mags and youtube sites that I follow. Just seem to be a really well engineered product, on more than one occasion I've read that Honda's engineers take the design of this car just as seriously as Porsche's GT dept do their models.

Looks fantastic in that shade of blue too. There's very little I would change other than maybe a set of spacers as I've always thoughts the wheels are a little lost in these in the wide arches - seen a few with spacers and they really fill out that gap. Health to enjoy

1707728930566.png

Jethro

Jethro
These are awesome, we've talked a bit recently about them on the RMS podcast as I've had a slight hankering for a hatch of some kind. They consistently score either highly (or usually hit the top) in any comparative tests against competitors in all the car mags and youtube sites that I follow. Just seem to be a really well engineered product, on more than one occasion I've read that Honda's engineers take the design of this car just as seriously as Porsche's GT dept do their models.

Looks fantastic in that shade of blue too. There's very little I would change other than maybe a set of spacers as I've always thoughts the wheels are a little lost in these in the wide arches - seen a few with spacers and they really fill out that gap. Health to enjoy

View attachment 424927

Yes, I had thought of a set of spacers and those pics may have just made my mind up
My only problem at the minute is to clear at least 4 bicycles from the garage so that I can get the car into it.

Reactions: Gaz

TheDaniel

Silvia PS13
Good man!! That is class. The blue in them is lovely. :heart_eyes:

Straight up to Spelga, first place I would go too! Health to enjoy & happy motoring. That thing should definitely give you the love back!

Odhran

A5 Sportback
I haven’t stopped watching videos of these since I first saw this thread earlier. Health to drive.

Tufty

RS3/RS4/S6
Why am I trying to save money and for who ? Just enjoy it and have something nice to look at in the drive or something nice again to put a smile on my face when I open up the garage.

Everyday I am awake I say this. People think I am mad yes I make sure all bills are covered there is food in the cupboard and clothes on mine and the families back but we only get one trip in life and I am enjoying mine so far. It`s not good news about your friend from work that's horrible and it certainly does make you put things into perspective and might drive you out of your comfort zone but sure here its all part of the craic. Like you say now you can open your garage door and smile and what a feeling that is.

Health to Enjoy and hopefully we might see it a future cars and coffee or RMS Drive out if @Ben gets round to sorting one out.

Shannonsir

Camaro SS
That's awesome, love the colour. Owned an FK2 for 18 months and loved every minute of it, nothing fwd wise handles like them. Only sold it to try something new, and for the aforementioned reasons... our time is too brief and there's a lot of cool stuff to try whilst the taking is there!. HTD.

svensktoppen

FK2 CTR
Nicely done 👌

It might be "slow" off the line compared to an EV, but it will be ten times more fun down any country lane. Then a quick splash and dash at the pump and go again.

And they're still absolutely fine on a long motorway run too when need be.

You won't regret it 😎

EF Ian

EF & 260Z GT-R
Nice buy, hope you enjoy it.

You are quite right, life is too short and unpredictable to live it only to make or save money, got to do that which brings enrichment into your life. I know many people so boring that do nothing outside of work and daily living duties who the most exciting thing (for them) that they do is go to Ikea once in a while. Please just shoot me if I ever get that boring.

Rigger

XJR 575, A4
Fair play fella, looks lovely. I'm sure it goes well, more so down the country roads. Sorry to hear about your bud.

Health to drive.

Jethro

Jethro
I probably should have added interior pics as well, it's had a few interior additions from Overland Designs in the form of an instrument panel visor retrim in red and black alcantara, red underneath and black on top. A red centre console alcantara retrim in red , carbon fibre gear knob and carbon fibre trim parts on the door panels front and rear.

IMG_20240223_172844.jpg

IMG_20240223_172710.jpg

IMG_20240223_172652.jpg

IMG-20240131-WA0015.jpg

IMG_20240223_172605.jpg

CurtisG

BMW M2
Stunning cars!

I had a real desire to get one of these and still do. Just look amazing to me. Ultimately I went the M2 in the end but still love these.

svensktoppen

FK2 CTR
Somebody spent a bit of money there 😎

They don't need a lot, Honda got it right. But a few small tweaks inside go a long way.

An Injen air filter is great too 😇

Jethro

Jethro
Somebody spent a bit of money there 😎

They don't need a lot, Honda got it right. But a few small tweaks inside go a long way.

An Injen air filter is great too 😇
I had Injen cold air intake filters on a few of my Subarus and was very impressed with the quality and enjoyed the noise. The Mishimoto is quite quiet and reserved... maybe thats a sign of getting old ? :grinning:

Jethro

Jethro
Had the day off work so had to get the other 2 Civics in the driveway a bit more presentable looking
IMG_20240226_172700.jpg

IMG_20240226_172619.jpg

Not too sure how long the silver one will stay clean as it's the wife's and it seems she can drive 9 mile to work on the grass verge 🙄🙄