What's NI like for getting into motocross/dirt bikes?

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

specialbrew

RMS Member
How's it going,

Seeing as I don't seem to find much time for track days (and find the money half the time) I was thinking about getting into another type of motorcycling. I keep seeing dirt bikes about for not much over a grand, was wondering what NI is like for using them? I don't really have time to find private land to ride on.

Basically, I have a few questions as I'm completely new to all this type of motorcycling. Haven't even ridden a dirt bike since I was about 6. I'm based in Belfast but willing to travel a bit, have a trailer already. So;

- What's the cost like compared to track day/short circuit riding?
- Are the bikes cheaper to fix than sports bikes? (like if you break a rear set etc.)
- Are there tracks that are available on weekday evenings and weekends? This is the big one for me
- How much are these tracks to have a go on?

So yeah, I'm kind of interested in it if it's gonna be a little cheaper and more accessible (the main thing for me really) than short circuits. Looks like good craic but I'm probably useless on a dirt bike anyway.

Cheers lads

DriftnSlide

Banned
Drives
S60 D5 SE
My youngest cub was at it for a while.
It is cheaper than track days.
They are less expensive to maintain, but if your buying a 4 stroke, make sure it has had a rebuild with receipts before purchase, with not many hours on it, as it will be expensive when they go bang. Maybe look for a good 125 or 250 two stroke instead. Although they are getting rarer and a bit more expensive to buy these days.