Young Driver, First time insurance

Status
This is not open for further replies. We close very old threads, and if this is the case, please start a new one on the same topic.

rugrat

RMS Photographer
Drives
Leon FR 2.0TDi
My eldest is 17 and she is keen to be on the road. I named her on my insurance for a week or two but neither me nor my leon can cope with learner driving :scream:

We are looking at a few Clios, around the year 2003/4. I have spent the past few hours getting quotes in her own name fully comp. - the range of prices stuns me. Here are a few examples -

Asda £4100
Hughes £1890
Endsleigh £1670
Quinns £1120

I have no experience with any of these companies, and as tempting as Quinns price is I am worried it might not be that good should she need to actually use the insurance. Anyone have any experience with any of these companies?

Richy

RMS Regular
Drives
E55
I've used Quinn for all but one of my 7 years driving, luckily never had any accidents in my car, but they are generally helpful any time I've needed to phone them.

My lady was insured with AXA through Post Office (Cheapest on price comparison) We had a bump on the Boucher Road and to say that the Post Office//AxA were totally useless in every conceivable way would be an understatement. So IMO avoid any company who are selling AXA insurance!

The missus is now insured with this lot... Cheap car insurance for women in Ireland

Very cheap, and based locally. No need to use them yet thankfully!

pablo

RMS Moderator
Quinns are keen to settle it seems even if its not your fault. so your daughter may end up losing ncb for nothing. But that that price its got to be worth a punt! Just teach her not to crash :laughing:

rugrat

RMS Photographer
OP
rugrat
Drives
Leon FR 2.0TDi