Our annual championship awards night took place on Saturday 21st January at Edenmore Golf Club. With over 140 people in attendance representing both speed championships, the MMP, and members from ANICC, this was quite an increase in numbers compared to the previous year. 

The new venue was a hit with everyone, providing great food and service on the night. A change to previous years, there was also a DJ in attendance, for those who stayed after for a dance and celebrations, although they wouldn’t have made it into strictly come dancing with some of the moves! 

The overall 2022 champion, Graham Thompson, collected the ANICC NI Motorsport Award, in recognition for his ten overall wins in the Hillclimb championship, which is quite an achievement, and a very proud moment for Graham, and also the championship. 

Another great achievement is one driver winning the Hillclimb Leaders Trophy, Specialist category. and his class. This was driver Jack Boal. Jack has been on the pace at every event with numerous class records broken along the way, well Done! 

Daniel Campbell was the winner of the Modified Category and also his class, and finished 2nd in the leader’s championship, with less than 2 points between him and Jack Boal. 

The Roadgoing Category was won by Colin McDowell in his beautiful historic Mini, which he has driven on the boil all season long. 

With many top 3 class awards also given out, every class has been well represented on the night and all season long with a great variety of cars and competitors. 

Jem Oils, distributor of Millers Oils here in Northern Ireland, has been a great supporter and sponsor of the championship for over 17 years, John Rice, owner and director of the business, has decided to slow down and retire, John also received an award from the championship, as a small token of appreciation, for all the support over the years, as Jem oils ceases their sponsorship going forward. A new sponsor has been found and in place for 2023. 

Other news for 2023, there will be a new event, organised and ran by Maiden City Motor Club, Ballymacallion Hill, which is close to the old Benbradagh course, and will be a great addition to the season, giving drivers a new challenge. 

I would like to thank all the event organisers and clubs, marshals, medical, competitors, timekeepers and ANICC for the support in 2022 and going into 2023. 



Graham is a photojournalist and motoring writer with over 20 varied years of coverage from manufacturer press launches to international motorsport and motoring events throughout the world. Graham is a full member of the Guild of Motoring Writers and Ulster Motor Writers Association.