The newest motorsport series to hit the country – The Buggy Ireland Championship – started over Easter with the first motorbike engine-based crosskart buggy exclusive event on the island of Ireland to take place at Kirkistown Race Circuit. 

Such was the high-level of competition from nine manufacturers, Casmat driver Mark McLernon won the time trial format by just 1.8 seconds from MV Racing’s Chris Irwin.

Not only did the Hillsborough man win but snapped up the additional LDR Buggy Hire Pacesetter Trophy for the fastest single run time of the day to boot while Jason Curran was titled with the Yacarcross Ireland Masters Trophy and Brendan McCartan the TrailerTek Starter Award recipient.

Back to the overall race and Omagh’s Kevin Meenagh rounded off the podium, 2.5 seconds back from Irwin but ahead of lead Labase Ireland Division 2 finisher Conor Shaw by 9.7 seconds. Pa Horan was fastest of the Speedcar entries and ahead of Cavan’s Jake Sullivan.

Labase Ireland also supported the trophies for Division 1 and with podium finishers forfeiting their class award it was dual entry Dermot McCullagh and Alan Cassells ahead of Neil Leslie with 2.5 seconds separating the trio.

A mere 0.8 seconds decided the Three One Solar Ltd Division 3 with Chrissy Hughes ahead of Thomas Wedlock in 16th and 17th overall respectively. Christopher McGurk was third.

Excitement is now building for round two on Saturday May 25 at a purpose built circuit within Bishopscourt Airfield. Runway sections have been cleared to create a track in time soley for the championship counter.

“An all concrete runway track it will provide a mix of technical sections and speed,” said Event Director William Neill. 

“The new team at Bishopscourt Airfield have put in a major effort to get the venue ready and have shown great support for the championship, clearing two new sections that will help create a layout of similar length to that of Kirkistown – again with two laps on each run over a never-before used layout.”

Entries will open in mid-April with a mix of round one drivers finding themselves among other drivers now ready to compete. 

Spectator admission is priced at £10 and under 16 FREE with action starting at 10am. For more information see Buggy Ireland Championship on Facebook, Instagram and TikTok or

A highlights video from round one can be viewed on the website alongside a full set of results.

The Buggy Ireland Championship features a control Goldspeed tyre available from Riddle ATVs and has support from Karcher Ireland, Holeshot Racing and Casmat UK and Ireland with organisation by WillPromotion.

𝗥𝗲𝗺𝗮𝗶𝗻𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗿𝗼𝘂𝗻𝗱𝘀 𝗼𝗳 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝟮𝟬𝟮𝟰 𝗰𝗮𝗹𝗲𝗻𝗱𝗮𝗿:

𝗥𝗗𝟮: 𝗕𝗶𝘀𝗵𝗼𝗽𝘀𝗰𝗼𝘂𝗿𝘁 𝗔𝗶𝗿𝗳𝗶𝗲𝗹𝗱 𝗠𝗮𝘆 𝟮𝟱

𝗥𝗗𝟯: 𝗦𝘁 𝗔𝗻𝗴𝗲𝗹𝗼 𝗔𝗶𝗿𝗽𝗼𝗿𝘁 𝗝𝘂𝗹𝘆 𝟮𝟳

𝗥𝗗𝟰: 𝗞𝗶𝗿𝗸𝗶𝘀𝘁𝗼𝘄𝗻 𝗥𝗮𝗰𝗲 𝗖𝗶𝗿𝗰𝘂𝗶𝘁 𝗢𝗰𝘁𝗼𝗯𝗲𝗿 𝟬𝟱

𝗥𝗗𝟱: 𝗧𝗕𝗔 𝗡𝗼𝘃𝗲𝗺𝗯𝗲𝗿 𝟬𝟮

𝗕𝘂𝗴𝗴𝘆 𝗜𝗿𝗲𝗹𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝗖𝗵𝗮𝗺𝗽𝗶𝗼𝗻𝘀𝗵𝗶𝗽: 𝗥𝗗𝟭 𝗥𝗲𝘀𝘂𝗹𝘁𝘀:

𝗕𝘂𝗴𝗴𝘆 𝗜𝗿𝗲𝗹𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝗖𝗵𝗮𝗺𝗽𝗶𝗼𝗻𝘀𝗵𝗶𝗽 𝗣𝗼𝗶𝗻𝘁𝘀: 




Graham is a photojournalist and motoring writer with over 20 varied years of coverage from manufacturer press launches to international motorsport and motoring events throughout the world. Graham is a full member of the Guild of Motoring Writers and Ulster Motor Writers Association.