B20 EF Civic

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
Hopefully the Civic`s problems at noting major and with some luck it will turn out a simple fix.
I hope so, it should certainly be fixable, unless the engine is bad, I'll check compression and leakdown but I really can't see there being any problem. If there its either going to get sold or k20'd

As for a daily fun car what about the PS13 there Rare over here and look fantastic.
Thats another option.

Don't get rid of it looks like there has been a lot of time and effort that has went into it and you'll regret it.
You are probably right, I've had it since I was 19 and I still really enjoy it, feels great from the moment you climb in, it still feels special. Just getting fed up, I just want it finished and running 100%, I'm done working on it other than maintenance.

It'll almost be impossible to get a mint one too that isn't severe money. These cars will go up in money look at the price even clean 1.4 EF's make
Mint ones are hard to come by for sure. Its worth a for what it is but its never going to be worth big money. Problem is, mine isn't mint anymore, it will need a new rear drivers side arch and rear passenger side quarter panel, its got some minute pin size bubbles on the arch but mainly because of rust starting near the fuel filler area. I'd always planned to get a bare metal respray to leave it good for the next tin years but that won't happen unless I can get it running 100%.

Who done the mapping and what rollers did you use?
It was Gav @ Gsport

Didn't want to mention because I don't want people thinking I have an issue with him as its quite possible it wasn't 100% when he mapped it or something has changed since that has thrown the fuelling way off.

You sound like a man who wouldn't let anybody else near it, but if you don't have the time it requires to put it right, Michael @ Type Two might be worth talking to.
I prefer to do things myself however if it means getting it running instead of selling it then I will take it someone more knowledgeable, problem is I find it hard to know who to trust.

Jonny_W

I hope so, it should certainly be fixable, unless the engine is bad, I'll check compression and leakdown but I really can't see there being any problem. If there its either going to get sold or k20'd

Thats another option.

You are probably right, I've had it since I was 19 and I still really enjoy it, feels great from the moment you climb in, it still feels special. Just getting fed up, I just want it finished and running 100%, I'm done working on it other than maintenance.

Mint ones are hard to come by for sure. Its worth a for what it is but its never going to be worth big money. Problem is, mine isn't mint anymore, it will need a new rear drivers side arch and rear passenger side quarter panel, its got some minute pin size bubbles on the arch but mainly because of rust starting near the fuel filler area. I'd always planned to get a bare metal respray to leave it good for the next tin years but that won't happen unless I can get it running 100%.

It was Gav @ Gsport

Didn't want to mention because I don't want people thinking I have an issue with him as its quite possible it wasn't 100% when he mapped it or something has changed since that has thrown the fuelling way off.

I prefer to do things myself however if it means getting it running instead of selling it then I will take it someone more knowledgeable, problem is I find it hard to know who to trust.

If you are looking someone to trust and knows their stuff, I would give @Andrew M at momentum a shout. Few people on here would agree about him.

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
If you are looking someone to trust and knows their stuff, I would give @Andrew M at momentum a shout. Few people on here would agree about him.
Thats the problem with cars and specialists. You hear good and bad about almost everyone, I've been told to avoid Momentum but also heard good things, this applies to many specialists so it makes it hard to pick and find someone you know to be good.

Delboy23

EP3
Thats the problem with cars and specialists. You hear good and bad about almost everyone, I've been told to avoid Momentum but also heard good things, this applies to many specialists so it makes it hard to pick and find someone you know to be good.

Did you try AP in Galway? I'm sure he would take a look at your map and tell you what's wrong. Have his details here if you want to contact him.

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
It will be a while before theres any progress on this as while I'll be off for two months in March they will both be spent studying so it won't be out again until my next holiday which will probably be october.

I'll try and find the time to sort most of it myself, can even sort the fuelling myself but I don't really like using the Hondata, its way off the Link G4+ in terms of ease of mapping. If I have no luck then I'll have a look for an expert, although I'll probably take it to Jonathan at AI Auto to start with, he should be able to sort it if I can't.

Delboy23

EP3
It will be a while before theres any progress on this as while I'll be off for two months in March they will both be spent studying so it won't be out again until my next holiday which will probably be october.

I'll try and find the time to sort most of it myself, can even sort the fuelling myself but I don't really like using the Hondata, its way off the Link G4+ in terms of ease of mapping. If I have no luck then I'll have a look for an expert, although I'll probably take it to Jonathan at AI Auto to start with, he should be able to sort it if I can't.

Hondata is tricky to learn alright!
Jonny should know if he's interested in doing it that is. Can only ask and see what he says.

StephenDc2

I would second the recommendation for AP-Performance in Galway, Aonghus is building and mapping Honda engines regularily and he is highly regarded as one of the best in Ireland and there are also a lot of mainland UK guys who fly him over to them or take their cars to him for mapping. He tunes a lot of race and rally cars and he is very particular about everything he does and he does not just try and take all of your money like a lot of companies these days

I used him to map my Skyline and he mapped by K20 with Hondata and I couldn't be happier, He also said that with the likes of Link etc it makes it a lot easier to map because they are a proper stand alone system but he uses Hondata that much its no problem. I will be travelling back down to him again soon to map my new cammed, ITB K20 setup again using Hondata kpro

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
I would second the recommendation for AP-Performance in Galway, Aonghus is building and mapping Honda engines regularily and he is highly regarded as one of the best in Ireland and there are also a lot of mainland UK guys who fly him over to them or take their cars to him for mapping. He tunes a lot of race and rally cars and he is very particular about everything he does and he does not just try and take all of your money like a lot of companies these days

I used him to map my Skyline and he mapped by K20 with Hondata and I couldn't be happier, He also said that with the likes of Link etc it makes it a lot easier to map because they are a proper stand alone system but he uses Hondata that much its no problem. I will be travelling back down to him again soon to map my new cammed, ITB K20 setup again using Hondata kpro
Good to hear. Just had a quick look and I've found plenty good things about AP Performance. But either way, I need to get it ready to be able to drive all the to Galway first.

Sounds like you've got a great setup on the go. Going to be a screamer.

Delboy23

EP3
Good to hear. Just had a quick look and I've found plenty good things about AP Performance. But either way, I need to get it ready to be able to drive all the to Galway first.

Sounds like you've got a great setup on the go. Going to be a screamer.

I drove my car down on a crap base tune with no bov and solenoid disconnected. I'm 4 hours from Aonghus and had no problems(y)

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
I drove my car down on a crap base tune with no bov and solenoid disconnected. I'm 4 hours from Aonghus and had no problems(y)
Driving a car that possibly has fuelling and/or timing far from what it should be as well as other problems could be a very good way to break it. Not a risk I would take, especially on such a high compression engine that cost me lots of money to build. Plus if I have it all sorted apart from fine tuning of the map then I won't have to stay down there too long.

Not really an issue though, I can change the alternator, check and fix the injector wiring and take some fuel out from the map in a just a few hours, would be good if theres no other problems. At least none that stop me driving it if I take it easy.

Delboy23

EP3
Driving a car that possibly has fuelling and/or timing far from what it should be as well as other problems could be a very good way to break it. Not a risk I would take, especially on such a high compression engine that cost me lots of money to build. Plus if I have it all sorted apart from fine tuning of the map then I won't have to stay down there too long.

Not really an issue though, I can change the alternator, check and fix the injector wiring and take some fuel out from the map in a just a few hours, would be good if theres no other problems. At least none that stop me driving it if I take it easy.

Once I got the ok from him then I drove it under 3k just and was grand. Though your issues were different from me so I would try and sort that before you do anything.

He's worth the trip down for sure.

StephenDc2

I trailer my car down to him, so if your stuck and don't fancy driving the car down you could easily rent a trailer and borrow something to tow it down and then back up the same day

He will come up here and map your car either on the road or on someone else's dyno but it will cost you a fair bit more for him to do that. He has a good dyno dynamics dyno at his place which he always prefers to use over some more basic dynos that he has traveled to map people's cars in the past

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
Thats a good option, could do that if I'm stuck.

I really need to get my trailer license, driven with trailers plenty but to be legal I need to get it on my license.

Delboy23

EP3
@EF Ian I would send him your tune if possible if you can't get it sorted or even if your still not happy with it.

@StephenDc2 your motor ready for mapping? Think Ciaran was saying your down in February time.

StephenDc2

As long and the trailer, load and tow vehicle doesn't exceed 3500kg then you can tow with a normal B licence.. This is written on the NI.gov and gov.uk websites under towing laws

With your car on a 500kg trailer you will be able to use a tow vehicle up to about 2tonne. I tow with a 1600kg Estate car and it works well

StephenDc2

@EF Ian I would send him your tune if possible if you can't get it sorted or even if your still not happy with it.

@StephenDc2 your motor ready for mapping? Think Ciaran was saying your down in February time.

Not far off, all the main work is done and just waiting on a new rad to finish off the cooling system.. I'm very busy with work over the next 2 months so possibly Feb and if not then the start of March

Delboy23

EP3
Not far off, all the main work is done and just waiting on a new rad to finish off the cooling system.. I'm very busy with work over the next 2 months so possibly Feb and if not then the start of March

Sounds good, fair play for putting it together so quickly. Can't wait to see it on track, graphics look sweet on it too(y)

Tufty

RS3/RS4/S6
@EF Ian I have a Van & Car Transporter if you don`t fancy driving to Galway in the Civic to get it mapped that is if you decide to go there.

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
@EF Ian I have a Van & Car Transporter if you don`t fancy driving to Galway in the Civic to get it mapped that is if you decide to go there.
Thanks a lot for the offer. That may be needed but it will be a while before I get a chance to get all this sorted.

EF Ian

EF Ian
EF & 260Z GT-R
Long time no update. Before I put this away last time I changed a lot of bushes and re-furbed the RTA's, set the valve clearances and a few other Jobs.

I had left it with Jonny @ AI Autosport to look at the map, he wasn't impressed and started to tune it however it was so bad he decided he couldn't drive and tune it himself so he left it until I would be home again so he can tune while I drive. I would have done that on my current time off if it wasn't for my broken ankle so alas it will have to wait until I'm home again probably end of April/start of May time. Not that I won't be busy enough then with fixing up the RB-Z and working on the mine and he cars new home.

I'm actually having a troubling decision at the moment, you see I've found pretty much a whole K20 swap package at a really good price and I would really like it, as its a very low mileage engine and gearbox which once fitted should give no bother and make my Civic a great daily. Now if I knew I would be able to get my B20 running how it should and how I want it to then I'd not really have the need to go K20 but until its mapped and finished I won't know if thats possible or not. Problem is, the money for the swap should really be put towards my new house including the garage where this will be stored. To get the garage how I want it I estimate I'll need at least £12k so I don't really want to take away funds from that but if I miss the swap package I may regret it as for me to put together all the parts individually would cost more than double the price I can get it for.

First world problems, but a hard decision none the less. What the opinion, is it better to hope the B20 works out or would I be mad not to K20 it? Costs wise I can fit the K20 myself bar the actual welding of the new mounts so other than the cost of the package additional expenses shouldn't be too bad.

Will be great to have a nice dry warm garage to work in, not like the last time I was putting an engine into this. Left two are for storage of the cars, right one is the workshop, hopefully to include a scissor lift.

Triple.jpg

Andy55

If it were me, I'd buy the k20, especially if you're getting it for good money.
If you manage to get the b20 working the way you want it or need to free up funds in the future, you'll have no trouble selling it on again.

Woodcutter

If you can get by without the garage work, buy the engine.

Just means you'll have to work for another while to gather that money back up again. that's easy, you might struggle to ever get a deal like that again on the engine kit.

I'm going on the assumption that you already own the house and the garage is just an addition?!

hippyross

Personally I'd keep the b20 as it's different and you've spent alot of time on it.
Can he not just get someone else to drive it so you can know for sure it's the map or not and then make the decision?